Help us plant an agroforest in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 111 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 13 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Here we are in Montemor-o-Novo, Alentejo, Portugal, on a beautiful land next to a beautiful river.

    My name is Isabel and I had a great opportunity to buy this piece of heaven 1,5 year ago - 600 meters of river, 8.5 hectares, 4 water mines, 1 water mill, 2 houses, 1 carpentry and a looooot to plant!

    I've been living here for 7 years and I've always had a strong connection to this land and felt a great responsibility to protect it. Luckily I've had friends joining in on this quest. Our focus is to plant a beautiful forest, regenerate the river and provide a safe space for beautiful people and wild animals to stay or circulate.

    Around the farm we have friends working on agroforest, carpentry, construction, welding, etc. We've been working on constructing basic infrastructures and recovering ruins, but we also love to organize parties, circus shows, workshops and concerts.

    We have dogs, cats and a piggy. We love animals and they are very welcome as long as their owners take responsibility and good care.

    The rest of the family comes and goes, I have an open house for visits and people that want to spend time helping out

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    For the ones helping more with the plantings, once or twice a week you will have an orientation day with a portuguese agroforestry master who is managing all the plantings around here.

    Here in Montemor-o-Novo you'll have the opportunity to meet a lot of interesting people that are focused and working on land regeneration, permaculture, agroforestry. We sometimes have open days and workshops on agroforestry, and Ajudadas, which are big open days where we invite all our friends to do plantings.

    We're also part of a bigger family that is Montemor-o-Novo, a super artistic and creative small city where a lot of our friends live. It's a city full of associations and projects that work on sculpture, cinema, animation, puppetry, theater, architecture, community development, local production and land regeneration. We have cultural activities every weekend and we do singing encounters and rehearsals regularly, specially focused on Cante Alentejano, a local traditional singing.

    Montemor-o-Novo is a beautiful place to feel a strong sense of community and friendship, where people gather to help each other but also to just celebrate life. We do beautiful parties!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I would love to find people that feel comfortable to embrace a specific responsibility during their stay.
    Right now we need help to:
    \ AGROFOREST MAINTENANCE:
    - maintenance of around 1,5 hectare of forest and fruit trees;
    - make cuttings and collect seeds;
    - seed and plant trees, bushes, vegetables, etc;
    - produce bio-fertilizers and manage the worm farm;
    - take out weeds and cover the lines with organic matter.
    \ MANAGE A TREE NURSERY:
    - seeding, weeding and cleaning;
    \ CLEAN THE RIVER:
    - clean the river margins from invasive plants and substitute with local ones;
    - clear space and open pathways to the river, etc;
    \ CONSTRUCTION:
    - construction of 2 dry toilets, 2 showers, a hen house, etc.
    - increase the nursery size;
    - preparing carpentry construction site - we're gonna build a carpentry!
    \ ART AND LAND ART:
    - building artistic objects around the farm;

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    - 2 caravans, each one with it's own kitchen.
    - 1 shared room.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our house is 2km away from the city, so it's very easy to have an independent life and move around walking or biking.
    You can participate on many different activities, such as theater, yoga, singing, jam sessions, chess, football, etc.

    Here at the farm there are a lot of people passing by and helping out, it sometimes get's intense. We love to socialise but sometimes we're kind of quiet, so we value people that find their own rhythm and space, that are independent and that communicate with clarity.

    We would love to find someone with a sense of community but also independent on their tasks. We're all in our own path, continuously learning about nature, community, relationships and personal processes.

    We're absolutely closed to racists, fascists, xenophobes, sexists and people who manifest any kind of disrespect or authoritarianism towards others. We are very strict on this one.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have very fast internet and a big living room where I usually do the office work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    A lot of space to park and outside common bathroom.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    As long as you take good care of your pet and stay aware that he doesn't destroy anything, runs to the road or hurts anyone.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 325143949185