Experience a remote, organic farm and enjoy our quiet, green environment in Ilam, eastern Nepal

Country

Nepal

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 746 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    973

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, I am Tika. I am a teacher at the local government secondary school in Maipokhari village. I am living with my family in Sandakpur-3, Maipatal village in the Ilam district. There are 4 family members in our family. Me, my wife (dika), son (suman) and a daughter (sudha). The village is located around 600km from Kathmandu with an altitude of 2225 mt.
    The Ilam district is famous for its tea farms. We have our own organic farm, with fruit & herbal plants and a nursery consisting mainly of kiwi plants. We have also two cows. We are growing kiwi, black tea, ground apples, chickpeas, cucumber and beans. Volunteers are warmly welcomed to my farm as well as my family. You can experience rural life in the east of Nepal and you can get a true sense of local rural life.
    Our village and its surroundings are quite green and it's known as the greenest district of Nepal as well as the tea paradise. If you like, you can do many activities here.


    Experience your pleasant stay within the clouds at our family operated property. Start your day to a fresh cup of Ilam Tea from our Organic Self-Sustaining Farm and work your way through our local kitchen using our local produce. Moreover; experience our homecooked Dal-Bhath for a hearty and soulful experience.

    The environment is cold (but not overly so) here due to the altitude, thus it is best to bring some warm clothes.

    ---

    Daily tasks:

    Volunteers can help us in our daily routines. This can include, cutting grass for our cow, weeding our nursery, picking tea leaves, planting new plants, etc. We also want to improve our kiwi farm, nursery of herbal plants , as well as help with vermiculture and horticulture.
    We are always open to creative ideas and would love to help volunteers in making the happen.
    We are asking for 4-5 hours per day from volunteers and they will have 1 full day off per week (like the locals!).

    ---

    What to see:

    If you are interested in wildlife, then our farm is the perfect place for you. We are surrounded by interesting wildlife. A recent survey on our farm found nearly 100 species of colourful moths and more than 8 species of orchid in our land. For those interested in birds, it is also a great location for birding, with lots of species available just from our gardens.

    There are several nearby trekking sites including Sandakpur, Tappu, Todke Waterfall, Maipokhari Lake as well as a Red Panda Sightseeing area.

    ---

    Food:

    Unlike many other home-stays we offer a varied diet and besides the typical dal bhat, we also eat noodle dishes, pyagi, rice pudding, fresh milk, curd, cheese, etc. We mostly eat vegetarian but occasionally meat also (but this is not a problem if you are vegetarian).

    ----

    How to Reach our Farm :

    From Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal you can find either a day or night bus to the city of Ilam. It is about 16 hours to Ilam from Kathmandu.
    You also can find planes to Chandragadi City from Kathmandu. Your bus will stop at Ilam Bazar, where we can collect you. If we can not collect you, it is possible to take a taxi from the bus stop for 170 NPR. The farm is about 16 km north of Ilam Bazar. You can also come by foot from Ilam Bazar if you want to hike.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Volunteers will be able to learn Nepalese culture, language and experience local life. Volunteers also will have a chance to enhance their agricultural knowledge and they can see the beauty of the district, and discover the surroundings.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Volunteers can help with our daily routines. Besides this, we are planning to build a bamboo cottage and a greenhouse. We also want to improve our kiwi farm, nursery of herbal plants ,vermiculture and horticulture.
    We are always open for creative ideas and would love to help volunteers make their ideas a reality.
    We are asking for 4-5 hours per day from volunteers and they will have 1 full day off per week (just like the locals!).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Nepali: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário
    Hindi: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We all members are very much interested in learning. Languages like Spanish, French, and other languages. We can practice each other’s languages during your stay :)

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a shared room for 2 persons and a common bathroom with hot water and a Nepalese-style toilet. We have electricity in all rooms. Because of a current lack of facilities in this area, we currently do not have internet, but we are looking forward to providing it in the future. You can however, use data for internet.
    Because I am working at a local school, I won't always be at the farm but there will always be someone to help you.
    We cook traditional Nepalese food, mainly vegetarian.Based on Nepalese dining customs, we provide two major meals a day plus two tea and snack breaks. Tea is served around 7 am. Brunch is served around 9 to 10 am and is usually typical Nepali food, dal/bhat (rice, lentils, and vegetables). Tea is served again at around 3 pm with local snacks. Dinner is at around 7 to 8 pm. The food is very simple but also extremely tasty, organic and filling. Vegetables mostly comes from our own gardens. Fresh milk and curd are also provided in meals. The food is healthy and fresh.
    We are always happy to welcome new guests (volunteers).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We can guide you to Todke waterfall which is the second tallest waterfall of Nepal, Maipohari Lake and local areas and celebrations. This place is good for trekking. There are some trails which can take you to beautiful views of the Himalayas. The altitude of the mountains are quite high, ranging from 2600 to 3600 meters. During your free time you can visit neighbouring villages and interact with the friendy locals.
    You can go hiking destinations nearby such as Sandakpur, Chhintapu, Tappu and also the red panda conservation areas.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    You can park motorcycles and upto Bus.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Yess. We also are pet lovers so fell free to bring.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours per day, 5 days

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (4.5)






































Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 321871811795