Help at a charity organisation in northern Malawi

Country

Malaui

Favorito 154 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 46 dias

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    At a special place, called Unu House, you will be working and staying.

    This house opened its doors few years ago for visitors and travelers to live close to the local community and to learn more about a Malawian village life. It invites people to come together to share knowledge, skills, experiences, stories and support. It will be your home for the time you wish to stay.

    The house has a long history. Since it offered the opportunity to everyone to engage in the community and to support local people it has been home of numerous people from all over the world who brought their ideas and stories to this place and shared them to the people around. It has become a place where people from different cultures can learn from each other. That’s how many friendships where built, divers projects were born and a wide cultural exchange has happened.

    After a long journey the house has reached the wonderful state of providing a peaceful environment to children and youth from the villages around. They come here to play, to draw, to sing, to dance, to drum or to do whatever comes into their mind. Since many of them are exposed to confusing things in their environs it’s very important for them to have a child friendly space where they can gather.

    The Project was founded by Antje and Phillip, a Swiss-German couple which came to Malawi in 2015 and started renting the house. In 2018 we overtook the house from Phillip and Antje and are renting the house right now. We are Anton, Annetta and Nicole, three young travelers from Germany.

    Internet is not available in the house but 5 minutes walking distance there is a lodge with the best internet in town.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Trabalho beneficente
    Prática de idiomas
    Ensino

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You are living in a rural part of northern Malawi. The house is surrounded by the owners Family so you will have lot's of cultural exchange with the local People - you will literally live together with them.

    Nkatha Bay is a very relaxed and beautiful place to stay. Lot s of interesting people around and working little bit outside of the town you will get in touch with an authentic Malawian lifestyle while working for something good. An unique experience is guaranteed.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    As a volunteer you’ll be given the freedom to decide on your own what to do as long it has something to do with our main target, the kids. Most of them use to come after school to the house to spend their free time. You’re welcome to entertain them and to make them feel comfortable. There are many toys, balls, books and paints in the house you can share to them. A big support would be anything around education, games and group activities or food sharing.

    We appreciate everything you would do at the house and are happy to provide you the opportunity to live with our friends and the kids. We are always up for an update about things happening at the house.

    IMPORTANT: This project might only be suitable for independent people who like to do some work by their own!

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Chichewa, Chewa, Nyanja: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will have your own room with bed and moskito net. The house is quite big, there is a small electric stove and flush toilet. You will be hosted by our friend Martha, a strong and independent woman who's caring for the house, the kids and you as well. She lives in the house as well and will introduce you to the place and the people.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Before it became a space for kids and youth this house used to be quiet a party place. To pay respect to the kids, their parents and the neighbors we don’t allow those alcohol based parties anymore to happen at this place. There are many and much more suitable party places around, such as the Lodges or local clubs in town. Be aware about whom you invite to visit you and what purpose they follow to come to the house.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    15hours per week with no food included.





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 314435386532