Help with home, maintenance, pets and garden and eco projects at our ranch in Buenos Aires Province, Argentina

  • Argentina
  • Favorito 128 vezes
  • Última atividade: 04/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! I have recently taken up the management of my family farm in Argentina, a place that is very dear to me, and am working on its transition to sustainable agricultural and ranching systems. We have quite a big garden to take care of, we are creating a native vegetation corridor, starting a vegetable garden, the houses, buildings and infrastructure need work, order, small repairs, and we have a lot of animals to take care of.

    We welcome helping hands to help with the project accompanying us in the joy of this transformation. We also like sharing our lifestyle and some of our local culture, and enjoy the process of learning from each other with our workawayers. We hope to offer an inspiring and pleasant personal experience.

    The work and setting will most likely be pleasurable for work-awayers who like the countryside, nature, have environmental concerns, do not mind getting up to work on a chilly morning -or on hot days- and are not much freaked out by animals or insects (although we know of none that are dangerous). Our workaways can expect to do some basic home and garden chores, such as weeding, moving debris and chopping and bringing in the firewood, feeding pets and horses, winterizing wood, small painting jobs, helping organize and tidy up the barns and other buildings, pruning, tree planting, watering plants, composting and the like. Talking, sharing experiences, enjoying asados and mates together are also things we very much enjoy doing with the workawayers staying with us.

    The house and buildings are about 100 years old and we are gradually renovating and fixing them up, so workawayers can expect rustic comfort (clean room and sheets, warm room and bath, hearty meals, wifi) but not luxury :-).

    We are a small family. I have a teenage son (away at school), a husband and many dogs and cats, and horses as well.

    I was born in Argentina and grew up in Canada and a few years in Ecuador. I studied in Toronto (UofT) and in the US (UC Berkeley). I also lived in Paris for a short while. My professional background is in environment and sustainable development and, besides farming, I currently do freelance work advising organizations on issues related to environment/climate change in international cooperation.

    We are fairly close to Buenos Aires, it takes less than two hours to get from Buenos Aires to our farm by car. Being close to the city, the area has a mix of activities besides traditional farms and ranches, which include tourism and polo.

    Because it is a rural area, if you want do some independent sightseeing, you have to combine a ride with us with local buses, unless you have your own transportation. We are happy to take you into town when we go. We also enjoy taking our workawayers to local fairs and activities we participate in. We can lend you a bike, which can get you to several places in the local community.

    Lastly, a kind reminder to workawayers to travel with health insurance.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    They could learn about the multiple tasks there are on a farm, and especially those associated with living on a farm, also about how farming is done in our region, the challenges of transitioning to more sustainable living as well as producing, about restoring the natural habitat and creating a native vegetation corridor. They can gain experience in gardening and caring for dogs, cats and horses, and may learn a bit about cows.

    They can also learn about gauchos traditions, making asado (Argentine barbecue), playing the classical card game truco and everything traditional from my husband Martin.

    The workawayers can get to know the area, with its potpourri of sights, peoples and activities: the small town nearby, the local artisans and crafts-people, the natural lake and wetlands with all their wildlife. We try to accommodate ways in which our workawayers can enjoy these experiences, like taking them with us when we go ourselves or when we go into town, or picking them up at the nearby bus stop, etc. My husband is into gaucho traditions and he is happy to take our workawayers to gaucho festivals and rides when possible.

    They can also learn Spanish or practice English with me.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We could use help with all the activities of the farm and farmhouse. Tasks often depend on the needs at particular times and seasonal, and we adjust according to the background and preferences of our helper. Our workaways can expect to do some basic home, barn, garden and orchard chores, and some minor strictly farming or ranching tasks. That may mean fixing a fence, or feeding a calf, besides doing maintenance in the house or cleaning the pool, feeding our pets, horses and foster dogs, moving debris and chopping and bringing in the firewood, feeding pets and horses, winterizing wood, small painting jobs, helping organize and tidy up the barns and other buildings, weeding, pruning, tree planting, watering plants, composting and the like. We also expect help with our shared meals, like setting the table or washing dishes, which varies depending on the task we are working on that day; this is flexible, family style.
    We would love to share our experiences with our guest and learn about them and their thoughts on anything in life!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Italiano: Iniciante
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I love languages. I can offer English and Spanish as languages I am fluent in, and would love to practice my French, Italian or Portuguese.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Unit with a bedroom, bath, dining room and kitchen located a few meters from the main house. Three beds. Two in a shared room.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Since it is a rural area , we have dogs, cats, and there is bee-keeping in our farm, it may not be a suitable setting for people prone to allergies or fearful of animals.

    The workaway unit is about 15 meters from the main house, so it may not be suitable for those fearful of the sounds of the countryside at night.

    Please let us know if you have any dietary restrictions. We accommodate special dietary needs, but cannot always accommodate personal tastes and preferences in food and drink. If a workawayer is used to consuming certain things more than we make them available, we are happy to take them into town so they can get what they like.

    In their time off, helpers usually enjoy the setting. They can take walks, relax after a good day's work in our garden, by our pool or by the fireplace (depending on the season), and reading a good book from our library. We also try to facilitate ways they can enjoy the surrounding area.

    We are happy to be reasonably flexible with the work, so that workawayers can hitch a ride with us when we go into town. We also drive them to the nearby bus if they want to sight see or go out on their own.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is a good wifi connection but not sufficient for people who need bandwidth and speed to support heavy duty use of data , such as designers, architects or gamers... It is for people who send emails and documents , and do some searching and reading online. Sporadic and usually short power cuts can occur.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5.5 days a week, - a few hours on Saturday by mutual agreement. Sometimes essential and mutually agreed on work on Sundays (like feeding animals)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 281878137882

Comentário (5)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Help out on the farm in San Juan, Barreal, Argentina
Help to manage a farm on one of the biggest wetlands in the world in Tigre Delta, Argentina