Help me to care for the land on a rainforest homestead on the big island, Hawaii, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 170 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I look forward to chatting with you and please be sure to address the following questions in your message.
    - have you read this profile and feel comfortable with what is being asked and offered.
    - travel dates?
    - All of life is a learning process but what skills, training, language, etc do you feel confident will be an asset in this exchange. Please be specific in regards to skills.
    - do you have a drivers license, it is not required but can be helpful.

    We grow most all the food we eat in small personal gardens. We care for our animals using positive and loving training methods. Rising with the sun, working hard to learn new skills, giving back to Hawaii in every way we can, enjoying each other’s company by sharing food, ideas, languages, we live life with purpose and fulfillment.
    Because we are opening our home in the name of cultural exchange, hoping to learn more about the world, we are only able to host those from countries outside of the United States.

    Details
    22 hours of help per week.
    Four, five hour days and a short daily chore. Three free days a week for adventure and time off.

    This is our home. No nonsense will be tolerated. Everyone is expected to clean up after themselves, treat everyone with respect and honesty. No smokers or drugs.

    Total honesty is practiced here. We respect everyone’s personal decisions to spend time alone or join in group activities. We often have potlucks with friends, afternoons at the tidepools and of course lots of time preparing and eating together if people chose to sped time together but nothing is mandatory. Everyone is empowered to chose how to spend their free time.

    This is my personal home not a business.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Extensive opportunities to learn about Hawaiian plants, farming, culturally appropriate behavior and interacting with the Hawaiian islands in a positive manner that will make ones stay uplifting.
    Talking about where your tourism dollars are going.
    Talking about where to hike, visit and camp thoughtfully.
    Being considerate about how you get around.
    Eating with local farmers and chefs and being part of the whole process.
    Finding activities that give back.
    Learning about aloha.
    Located in a rural rainforest 2.5 miles from Pahoa Town on the Big Island of Hawaii.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We love to host people who are excited to be here, who enjoy a hard days work of which they can be proud, who are drug and tobacco free.
    Projects will vary depending on one’s interest and skill set.
    Organizing and cleaning.
    Weeding and building small garden beds to grow your own food.
    Animal care
    Harvesting fruit and vegetables off the land.
    Painting
    General maintenance
    Also, work ethic expectations would be extreme, but much less than I demand of myself.
    Because I provide a lot of teaching, introductions to the local community and engaging personal projects, those who request a 2-3 month stay are prioritized over shorter stays.
    5 week minimum stay required
    This is my personal home not a business.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Germans, Austrians, Hungarians, Ukrainians especially welcome. These languages are so beautiful and wonderful to hear.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There is a beautiful studio in my home with private entrance, porch and bathing area. This space has two beds and can accommodate two people.
    There is also a private loft with artistic murals, large windows and cool breeze that is well suited for 1 person or a couple. Everyone is expected to keep these spaces clean.
    Kitchen with Non perishable staples like, coconut oil, salt, rice, beans. The gardens grow an abundance of tropical fruit, potato’s, edible bamboo and chicken eggs. Because we don’t believe in food shaming or waste, everyone gets to decide how much off they Farm they would like to eat and harvest it themselves. Although food is provided you should expect to buy additional groceries to accommodate your personal dietary needs.
    2-3 people will be hosted at a time, people in the area are friendly and we have 6 cats so there is always someone to “talk story”. At the same time we keep our home safe, private and quiet, no outside visitors, there is no WiFi and we often choose to work quietly and spend evenings reading. This is the perfect paradise for independent individuals who enjoy working hard, time to oneself, open minded of other cultures, are cool with working rain or shine and want to have a positive impact on the island.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The Big Island offers many wonderful hiking and camping locations, great snorkeling for strong ocean swimmers, our town offers many classes in Hula, yoga, meditation, sailing, horseback riding etc.

    Hosting and slowly getting to know people from around the world has been a beneficial ( though sometimes difficult) experience. One has to open their home, give loads of time with teaching, explanations and of course creating the living spaces, buying food and tools has been expensive but worthwhile. Very few people come here with trades, skills or knowledge relevant to living off grid in a rainforest, all I ask is that you genuinely have read through my profile before messaging. Include the secret word “Ashoka”in your email and I will know you are a person to be taken seriously and that is is not just another copy and paste request.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 279531499945