1 / 5
atualizado  

Help out at my farm surrounded by lovely countryside in Udine, Italy

  • Favorito 8 vezes
  • Última atividade: 19 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Dear volunteers, my name is Nicola, I'm 30 and I live (and grew up) in a farmhouse in the not much known north-eastern corner of Italy, Friuli.

    I opened this host profile six years ago, in the year when I helped my dad running his farm. During that time I had the luck to host some of the best volunteers I could hope for, and even tho it feels like ages ago I still keep great memories of that experience.
    Since then, lots of things had changed: my dad is not around anymore, and the place can't be properly called a "farm". My dad used to keep sheep, wild-range pigs in the woods and other animals, and to cultivate our 3 hectares of land... while now in the woods has moved a small pack of roe deers, and in the morning you can see them browse undisturbed in the fields! Other current non-human inhabitants are our 30 hens, two cats, and my mum's dogs.
    Nowadays, after moving back from Venice where I lived for some years for uni, I work as a librarian in a nearby town's public library. But since I'm doing a part time, during the rest of my week I'm always working to keep this place nice and not too wild... And this is where you could help :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    There's much to learn about this area and its history and culture. We're in Italy but maybe not as you learned to expect it, people here even speak our own regional language, and food, ways of being and traditions are quite different.
    I will also be very interested in learning about your background and culture. After all, one of the reasons why I decided to host is to keep meeting travellers from other places in the world also while I'm not travelling myself!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    As a volunteer myself, I got both experiences of those places where there's a mission, big commitment, lots of projects going on, and also of hosts that were more chill and just needed a hand for every-day maintainance and errands. The kind of volunteering I'm needing this time is the latter, so if that's what you are looking for, hopefully you will enjoy your stay here :)

    In more detail, the bulck of chores you'll be carring out will mostly involve feeding the hens, collecting the eggs, and mowing the grass all around the house. Other than that, once you're here I will think of things you can help me with, like clearing out areas from brambles, doing some cleanings, prepare wood for the winter and other gardening and general mantainance stuff.
    Depending on your preferences, the agreement can be about just accomodation, and in that case I will only ask you for a couple hours of work every day (with days off od course) to carry out the essentials, and you can be free for the rest of the time (and of course have full freedom to the kithcen), OR it can include meals, and then we can be more creative about tasks to work on together!
    I'm happy to discuss other options, like for instance with me doing the grocery shopping and you cooking for the both of us (which actually wouldn't be bad, especially when I'll be coming back from twork). Let's see what works out best in each case. This is something we can discuss beforehand and can lay out the agreement clearly in the beginning, so we both know how it will be and what to expect.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Catalan: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You'll have your own room with a bunk bed (I don't hate couples, that's just the only spare bed I had in the attic!). This is downstairs in the same part of the house where I live. You'll have your private toilet downstairs and for showering you'll use my bathroom upstairs. We will also share the kitchen.

    I'm very happy to share my house and to provide a welcoming place for you to stay. I travelled as a volunteer myself in the past and I know how it is :) You will have all the privacy you need, in your room or in the big garden, walking around, borrowing our bikes... but I'll be also happy to spend time together, cooking meals, chatting, driving you around and showing our beautiful area.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The farm is surrounded by a lovely countryside, which you can explore by foot or bike. There are plenty of villages to visit, rivers to go swim and so on. The nearest village with shops, bars and buses is 15 minutes by bike or an one hour walk.
    As you can see from the map, we are quite close to the border with Austria and Slovenia, as well as the renown italian cities of Venice and Trieste, which you can reach in less than two hours by train on your free day (I will be happy to drive you to the station and come to pick you up). Also the main town of the area, Udine, is less well known but worth a visit.
    We have the Alps to the north, Slovenia to the east, the Adriatic sea to the south and Venice to the west!

    I have tried to think of everything relevant to write here but if you have any other questions or want more information, please feel free to ask. I'm really looking forward to hosting volunteers again this summer!

    Nicola

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of space for parking, but no drainage

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 265242977918

Fotos

Comentário

Join and help out at my solar-powered farmhouse in Torniella, Italy
Come and join our family in Rome, Italy