Join me at my off-grid living experience project in Tavira, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favorito 34 vezes
  • Última atividade: 5 jun. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição


    Hi, my name is Rui,  

I am developing an off-grid living experience project and need help with lots of different projects. I am looking to grow food, trees, herbs etc. with soil regeneration and sustainability in mind and a Recycle reuse repurpose less waste policy. I believe in protecting and preserving nature for future generations and believe that this starts with living more simply.  

    I live in the eastern region of the Algarve, I am situated in a beautiful quiet peaceful natural valley close to small hamlet. This is quintessential rural Portugal, close to the beautiful coastline with Faro at its heart. This destination is a lesser-explored and relatively untouched part of the Algarve, see what Portugal has to offer with its rolling hills, salt pans, quaint towns and villages and natural spots such as lakes, waterfalls, and river pools.  
I moved here from England a few years ago with a small budget to buy a piece of land here in Portugal and begin living more simply.

    The journey has been challenging, and since the pandemic I have come up against some significant difficulties, however, I have persevered and managed to start to cultivate what the land has to offer whilst building eco facilities to attach to my yurt and Tipi. I have a background in building and artisanship and intend on creating Earth-ship-style buildings using tires and soil, which is one of the projects I am looking for help with.
    I would also like to enlist the help of volunteers on is the management of the land- the gardening in particular.

    I myself am relatively new to the world of gardening, and to have someone on board that enjoys growing food would be ideal.  
I am open to the prospect of inviting semi-permanent and even potentially permanent residents to help me manage and care for the food garden.  

    I am a qualified Tai Chi teacher and can offer both Tai Chi and Chi Kung classes to helpers and guests. The practice of ancient breath and movement exercises helps to support the idea of living more simply and mindfully, my goal is to strive for harmony and a more laid-back and basic approach to life. I also love playing guitar and ukulele and always encourage jams on my land as it helps to nurture a sense of joy.  

    The living circumstances here are extremely basic, and I can understand that lots of people may struggle to live without home comforts but hope that the understated way of living will be enough to draw people's curiosity.
    We do not have access to running water. Water collection is possible from a beautiful classic font, just two minutes away.
    There are solar showers and compost toilets. Outside cooking areas are also available.

    Guests will also have limited access to solar power. I can offer Internet access if necessary
    I would like people to bear in mind that this is a project in development so some things will be upgraded and improved as we go along. 
At present, I can either offer land for guests to park on with vans, camp on with tents, or for up to 2 people to stay in the Dreamcatcher Tipi which has its own compost toilet and solar shower. I am also looking to finish off the other two accommodation projects which are the yurt and the caravan, after which point these spaces will be offered as places to stay.
I would recommend people have own car or hired car, however I can collect from Olhão Train Station and I’m sure we can arrange some drop offs to some local spots,
    I can provide some food storage (cool box maybe a couple of items in my fridge) and own cooking facilities, the local village has 2 small supermarket shops and is only a short walk away.
    I hope the people looking to come here will have respect for the peaceful quiet joys of nature; as I am a fairly simple person looking for the bare necessities in life.  
Thank you for reading, if you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in contact.  
    Thanks for your interest.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    People can expect to learn about off grid living, low cost living, sustainable and regenerative gardening and land management.

  • Ajuda


    There are many various maintenance tasks ranging from help with projects to collecting Carobs, olives and hopefully any other produce we can grow.
    gardening, land management, tree pruning, perhaps some food preparation or cooking, maybe some basic carpentry or building skills. Any off grid experience would be great.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    Currently I can offer staying in the dreamcatcher Tipi suitable for 2 people, with use of a separate compost toilet and shower area. I have parking spaces for camper vans.
    With help I want to finish the Yurt project and the small caravan both of which can be also offered as accommodations.
    I have an outdoor kitchen for cooking.
    I would like people to Please bear in mind that this a developing project so some things will be getting upgraded and improved as we go along
    15 hours will be fine to begin with but as the project progresses I would like to include food

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are many beaches and local beauty spots to visit here.
    Although I would recommend people have their own car or hired car however I would be glad to take people to places but I would have to charge accordingly.
    For example (30 minutes travel) pick up or drop off to airport would be 30 €
    I hope the people who would like to come here have a respect for the peace and quiet of nature.
    I am a fairly simple person trying to live a simple life looking for the simple bare necessities of life

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I do have fairly good wi-fi but phone signal can be erratic. I have charging for laptops or phones via solar power batteries

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I can accommodate small to medium size caravans and camper vans and Motorhomes

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I think I could accommodate workaways with pets providing they are well behaved and fairly self-sufficient as I have one dog and two cats

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 2/3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 246111334215

Comentário (1)



private studio above Miramar 10km South Porto , Portugal
Restore soil, grow vegetables and manage the forest and infrastructure for self-sufficiency near Aljezur, Portugal