atualizado  

Play games and help around the house in Marion, North Carolina, USA

  • Favorito 70 vezes
  • Última atividade: 21 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are Grace (they) and Mike (he), a married couple in our 30s living in the mountains of western North Carolina. We used to travel extensively (we've done a year-and-a-half of WorkAway as volunteers ourselves!) and are now turning our ridiculously large old house into a lovely urban homestead. We are both creative people who love playing and designing board games, making music, and taking on new projects. We are looking for people who are excited to hang out, try new things, and learn as they go more than we're looking for people who are experienced volunteers (though of course your experience will be welcomed and respected!).

    Our space will work really well for couples, friends traveling together, families (we don't have kids but we love kids!), and independent travelers who are okay having long chunks of time for themselves. If you need a lot of time to yourself to work on a creative project, we might be a really good fit! For those traveling with pets, our home is unfortunately not set up to be pet-friendly.

    We prefer stays of between one week and one month.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We invite you to join us for a taste of small-town mountain life and fun times in an extremely nerdy household!

    We have the most incredible view of the mountains from our backyard, so we hope you will come and relax and recharge here. We are new to this area but would love to show you the things we love about it - going for hikes, seeing theater and music performances, and going to local festivals.

    We play a lot of board games and would LOVE to play games with you! It's a great way to socialize and enjoy time together without a lot of pressure. If you are a board game designer (really specific, we know) then we have a lot to additionally offer you. We can connect you with our local playtesting groups, would love to test your games at home, and can possibly even help you get to conventions as we attend most of the big ones. We ran a mentorship program for board game designers so we're all about fostering those connections! And if you've never designed a board game before... you might just be a game designer by the time you leave!

    We're both creative people in general and have various DIY interests, so we can get crafty together - we love trying new projects and would love to learn any skills you want to share! We have an entire music room where you're welcome to play anything you like, and Grace can teach you beginner ukulele if you would like (there's a meetup group downtown you can jam with every Saturday!).

    We would love to provide you with a space to work on your own creative projects, as we know how important those are. So if you're working on a novel or an art project or are writing music and need a lot of space and time to do that, we might be a really great fit for you. We'll want to hear about your progress and cheer you on!

    We are both native English speakers so we can help you practice your English if that's something you're working on.

    We are also an LGBTQIA+ friendly household. :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We like to have clear expectations, so we are going to aim to have you help us with a small list of regular tasks and then assist with one bigger project while you're here.

    For 2024, our big goals are to do improvements around our home (especially in our large neglected yard) and move towards making this place more of an urban homestead. We want to establish a native pollinator garden, create a compost system, grow some basic food & herbs, build a chicken coop, and create a cozy firepit area in our yard. There are also some artistic projects indoors for people who are skilled at creative painting. We would love to have your help with the projects that interest you the most! We will be working alongside you and figuring it all out together, so you'll be joining us for the adventure.

    For daily tasks, we have a ton of yardwork that needs kept up with, so in warm weather you'll probably be mowing the lawn and helping trim bushes and things like that. We're only on an acre of land, but there's a lot of yard to keep up with! Basic housework (sweeping and dusting, doing dishes, cleaning rooms/surfaces) and cooking meals (if you enjoy that) will round out your list of tasks.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have multiple large bedrooms available with 1or 2 beds in each, so we will find a room that fits your needs! You will have your own bedroom but may have to share a bathroom with other travelers.

    We'll eat dinner together most nights, breakfast together a couple of times a week (unless you prefer to sleep in), and have supplies for you to take care of your own lunch most days. We enjoy cooking for people and are happy for you to share your cooking talents with us if that's something you enjoy! We can accommodate a pretty wide variety of diets (Grace is vegetarian, Mike is not) so just let us know what you need. The kitchen will be yours to use as you need!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live up the hill from Marion, NC, which is a pretty small town. If you enjoy walking, we'll be a great fit as we are less than a mile walk from everything major in town (multiple restaurants and breweries, the post office, the arts co-op, thrift stores, etc). Mike works in the very hip-and-happening Asheville, NC, and would be happy to give you a ride along on his way to/from work so that you can explore the city on your own.

    We are chill folks looking to connect with others and to give opportunities to a community that has given us so much! We look forward to meeting you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have strong wifi throughout most of the house, but we have limited three-pronged outlets as the house is old. We can be sure to set you up with a welcoming workstation if this is something you need!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 243533461534

Comentário (2)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Join in family outings and beach trips while staying with us in Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Family friendly off grid homestead looking for help with earthbag build in Taos, United States