Teach us languages and help with the garden in Watchfield, United Kingdom

Country

Reino Unido

Favorito 188 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    19/11/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    40

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    86.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We live in a lovely part of the English countryside in a remote 17th-century gamekeepers cottage surrounded by farmland. At one end of the farm track, on which we live, is a beautiful National Trust village and we have several very pretty country walks on our doorstep.

    Our family consists of:
    Lucie (Mummy): I am self-employed and work from home. I love food, music, and yoga. I have just completed an English Literature degree so I am keen on reading and films. Because of my work, I am also very keen on Netflix TV shows! Now my degree is completed I am keen to learn languages-Japanese (so I can keep up with Ollie), Italian, Spanish and French are top of my list.
    Ollie (my son) is 11 years old. He loves anything Japanese, films, and chocolate! He is learning Japanese, French and Spanish.
    Mavis: Our very large, old, lovable dog. She makes a lot of noise when she barks but she just want to say hello.
    Molly: Our cat who thinks she runs the place.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live in National Trust parkland near the Vale of White so we are very rural, the nearest public transport is 6 miles away (20 minutes walk).
    We are about 15 minutes drive from Swindon, 35 drive minute from Oxford, 50 mins drive from Bath, 70 minutes train journey from London.
    Swindon station can take you out to Bristol, Bath, Cardiff, London and (with a change of station) Oxford and Taunton in Somerset.
    There are several pretty walks and plenty of places to cycle nearby. We are also close to White Horse Hill where you can climb to the highest point in Oxfordshire and marvel at views stretching out over six counties. Our nearest village is wholly owned by the National Trust so has beautiful houses and is a lovely little place to explore (plus it has a pub!)

    We can help with your English, cook you traditional English dishes (we always try to ensure our guests get to experience a roast dinner, fish and chips and traditional a English tea ) and you can experience rural England

    As we are remote, someone with their own transport would be preferred as you will be fairly isolated without this. However, I am happy to give lifts when I am able.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Lots of things!

    In 2023, we will really need help with our Japanese language skills, as we are planning a trip to Japan at the end of 2023.

    - I welcome help with a very large garden. There is general maintenance (mowing, hedge trimming, bed maintenance etc) and a veg patch.
    - As it is an old house rooms may need painting from time to time.

    If you have any other skill, or you are particularly skilled in any of the above do make it clear when you message me as I am open to suggestions.

    It will involve 4 hours a day, a maximum of 20 hours per week, split between language lessons and help around the house. The hours will need to be flexible as my work hours are not always structured. We need someone who doesn't mind if things change a little as we go along. In the school holidays things can work quite differently from during term time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are both really keen to learn Japanese. Ollie is already advanced in Hiragana and Katakana (to read and write) but I am an absolute beginner. We are also keen to learn French, Spanish and Italian. I have BA in English and my acting background is very useful when teaching English pronunciation.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a spare room on the ground floor. Although the room would be your own, my office cubby hole is in there so I will need access from time to time.

    We have wifi.

    We are happy to welcome male and females into our home.

    We would like a trial period of 2 weeks with you and if we are all happy we can agree on a time period to suit us both of us.

    Breakfast and lunch we make our own arrangements for food (I have a well-stocked fridge and larder). In the evening we eat as a family and it would be great if you join us and help with preparing and tidying up after meals. We eat a wide range of food including meat & fish but our meals aren't always meat-based as we like vegetarian and vegan food too.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have now had 15 wonderful Workaways and made some fabulous friends so we are used to, and love, having visitors join our little family.

    I do not smoke so would prefer people that also do not smoke. I also do not drink but am happy for you to drink moderately in the house and have no problem if you want to go out on nights out. However, we have a curfew of 2200.
    Please remember, however, that I work and have a young child so late-night noise and/or parties are not welcome.

    To reiterate again; we are very remote so you may feel quite isolated especially if you do not have a car. If however, you like the countryside, dogs, and walks this may well be the place for you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)
















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 234246295589