Help around our land and discover beautiful Northumberland County, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 40 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    08/07/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Covid-19
    There has been no policy notice from Workaway so we are writing to any prospective visitors on our own. We are fully vaccinated and would appreciate the same from anyone applying to live with us. Please use your common sense when pursuing a place to stay. If you are sick, don't come!

    My husband and I moved from the big city of Toronto eight summers ago to pursue a quieter, moderately self-sustaining lifestyle. On our 12 acres we have meadow and hardwood forest. As the soil is sandy, from thousands of years of being part of a large sea, we are working hard to augment the soil for farming. Using methods such as Hugel kultur and digging in composted material; building raised beds and planting native species, we endeavour to bring the land to a state of growing ability.

    In addition to this, we had a modest bee yard of five hives. sadly, like most bee keepers in Ontario, we lost all our hives this past winter. We have tried to plant flower species that are both native and sustaining for solitary bee forage.
    Some of our large projects include laying a walking trail through the hardwoods, clearing out and repairing a barn on site, building a wood burning pizza and bread oven and establishing a mixed fruit orchard with trees and bushes native and hardy to our area.

    Our fruit trees and vegetables are chemical free with hand picking of pests being our primary method of damage control. As you can imagine, this is very labour-intensive during the growing season. Another task that takes considerable time is the removal of invasive plant species on our property. By doing this we are able to maintain the natural habitats required for birds, frogs and snakes.

    We live in beautiful Northumberland County, Ontario, east of Toronto and west of Kingston.

    This year we encourage you to consider camping on our property as an alternative to being housed inside. We will provide a porta-potty and clean water for washing. Meals will be taken together with us. We are currently using our extra rooms to house displaced people from Ukraine.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have travelled extensively and welcomed students learning English to our home in Toronto. We speak several languages ourselves including: Dutch, French, Armenian, Spanish and German. We have facilities that will accommodate someone with a physical disability as we wish to be as inclusive as possible.
    Art projects are encouraged!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Here we are in the middle of spring 2022! Chores now consist of weeding mostly as well as pest control. We are currently building a greenhouse for which we need assistance. We are replacing the fencing around the swimming pool.
    We also have some orchard maintenance. Much of our work will be dirty but not overly taxing. Any and all are welcome to help!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Armenian: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our house has a big open plan encouraging communal living. This year we are full with people who have fled the war in Ukraine. As a result, we are suggesting camping during the summer months. Food preparation and eating together is what we do. We are non-meat eaters.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The beautiful Provincial park of Presqu'ile is nearby and we have a year pass. There are bike trails, walking trails and beaches. Toronto is two hours away by car. Kingston is a little over 1 hour east and Ottawa is 3 hours away by car. We have a swimming pool which is a welcome splash at the end of a hot day! We belong to a dragon boating club which you may join a few times as a guest.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is room for a small camper van/motor home.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 218944121744