Woodcutting, brushcutting, wild edible plants, permaculture, yoga and climbing in the moutains of Haute Ariège, France



Favorito 296 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    I am Belgian, a biologist and certified yoga teacher. Together with my Chilean husband we have been working and living in different foreign countries in search for cultural exchanges, mountains and wild nature. We are a couple in our late 50's and we love hiking and climbing. In 2010 we bought an old and disregarded house in the Ariège Pyrenees.
    Since 2015 we have been settling here in “Les Cabannes”, at the base of “Plateau De Beille” between "Ax-Les-Thermes" and "Tarascon-Sur-Ariège".

    We aim for a sustainable lifestyle and we need tripple hands to do all the work on what has become a mini farm. We will be very happy to receive helping hands from strong and motivated people. For the month of November there is extra maintenance of the garden and preparation of the permaculture beds for the next season. There is also plenty of hard brushcutting, woodchopping.... and and less hard pruning, cleaning the chicken scoop, taking care of the animals... but!!!!! DON'T BE AFRAID OF CREEPY BUGS because there everywhere after this hot and dry summer.

    Some more background information about us you can find hereafter:
    Our once old and disregarded house is nearly renovated by our own hands and the neglected garden transformed in a beautiful wildflower heaven. Our little family includes hens and a rooster, 3 sheep and a ram and of course our cute shepard dog, Luna. The gardening is done on the principles of permaculture. We avoid buying useless trow-away and recycle as much as possible and our rubbish bin is quite empty luckily, we hope you'll pay attention to that too.
    We heat by a woodstove which is also the cooker during wintertime. Moreover it is off during the night for a healthy fresh sleep, Water and electricity consumption are kept as low as possible, so letting run clean tapwater (for example long showering, cleaning the dishes...) is not part of our habits.
    We maintain spirits high by boosting positive energy with yoga practice, breathing and relaxation techniques. We are conscious about keeping good health and vitality through healthy cooking and eating. This means the cooking is in tune with the seasons and one’s physical activity. We love vegetarian meals and we might include sometimes fish from the local fish farm or meat from own production or local producers who respect the animal and the environment. Regularly, we prepare homemade breads, vegetable spreads and fermented vegetables like in my grandmother’s time (by the way: I am grandmother myself by now).

    This is all very hardworking, however we never forget to just enjoy this beautiful area. We take free time and weekends to go hiking, climbing, swimming in the natural waters, mountain biking.... In the snow season we go snowshoeing and even climbing is still very nice on the south facing walls on sunny winter days. Everywhere we go, our shepherd dog is part of the fun but please don't trow her any sticks or bones: her playing is the working with the animals

    Sorry if I respond late. After a long day of work I might forget to look at messages....
    And please, don't forget in your contact message the answer to my questions at the end...

    Hoping to get to know you soon....

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Splendid location:
    On the border of a small village with basic services and a market on Sundays; you can do everything on foot.
    In the vicinity of a huge rock-climbing-wall, tracks, trails and dirt-roads giving access to amazingly beautiful, peaceful, wild areas for birdwatching, photographing, walking, swimming, climbing ….
    Possible access to nearby villages on foot by means of ancient dirt roads and trails, by public transport (train station, bus) and even a relaxing treat in a spa with thermal waters or the discovery of Cathar culture, fortresses, Romanesque chapels, caves with prehistoric paintings and more.

    Amazingly interesting activities:
    -Practicing 4 languages: English, Spanish, French and Dutch
    -Climbing, hiking, snowshoeing, mountain biking with experienced and active hosts (more than 30 years in different areas in the world, 15 years in Haute Ariège). We know and frequent the interesting trails, climbing routes, mountain bike descends. Besides internet we also offer the excellent old fashioned consulting way by means of paper books, maps and guides for insight in our library. By the way, reading in bed is a much more relaxing way to finish your day than fixing your gaze on a screen.
    -Practicing yoga, breathing and relaxation techniques with a professional yoga teacher.
    -Discovering & learning new skills or sharing your skills related to the before mentioned outdoor and indoor aids needed.
    -Getting acquainted with our way of cooking which we consider the “art of playing with flavors, colors and ingredients" in order to create a meal which is harmonious at all levels. This means balanced and healthy for the taster and respectful for the farmer and the environment.
    -Exchanging and socializing around a table (inside or outside depending on the weather) sharing a delicious dinner prepared from homemade mostly vegetarian and seasonal ingredients sourced from local artisans or from the bio-organic garden.
    -Everything real and life, close to nature and the mountains, in company with an amazing couple and their animals.

  • Ajuda


    The following interest, abilities & skills are welcomed:

    Outside the house: For most of these tasks you have to be physically fit and sometimes also willing to work in the dirt, rain or cold.
    Gardening: fencing, brush-cutting and cutting up fallen trees in the field for the sheep.
    Planting, pruning, weeding, stacking wood for winter heating
    Cleaning the chicken coop and hen house
    Maintenance of fences and gates.
    Repairing collapsed dry stone walls and terraces on steep hill slope
    Shearing of the sheep
    Cleaning and drying of medicinal plants or herbs.

    Inside the house:
    Heip might be needed for difficult cleaning tasks like washing the windows.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We generally receive people up to 7 nights, 8 days.
    On arrival you are expected after 4:0 PM. The day of leaving you are expected to leave around midday after having cleaned completely your staircase, bedroom and bathroom until the spider cobs in the hidden corners: this includes also scrubbing the shower, washbasin, mirror and the toilet .
    We can accomodate 3 people. You will be hosted on the first floor where a nice bedroom is available with 3 comfortable real single beds and a wardrobe. You might be sharing this room with another workawayer, we will inform about that if it's the case. There is the bathroom with toilet, shower and washbasin on the same floor. There is also the relaxing space with library and inter-netting desk. This is also the place where the morning and/or evening yoga sessions take place. Shoes, food and drinks are not allowed in the upper floor areas. Please, bring some slippers for inside use only (if not we’ll borrow you a pair). Since the upper floor is covered with cork for yogapractice, it is not allowed to go up with any footwear being used outside. If you like walking barefeet, thanks for washing your feet before going up and/or using the yogamats.
    A typical day starts around 7 AM, taking care of the animals, then some yoga with Gerd, certified yoga teacher: you are more than welcome to join her. So, if you have never practiced yoga but you would love to try it out, it's the moment to take your chance. Around 8h00 AM we usually prepare and have breakfast in order to be able to start work at 9:30 AM. When it's getting very hot we might start earlier.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    1) In order to avoid misunderstanding, and thus disappointment from both sides, we would like you to explicitly read our complete profile including the following:
    - confirm your agreement to the underneath mentioned house rules and information.
    - mention what skills you can offer or would like to learn in relation to the aids needed and whether you are fit enough for this.
    - mention what activities you would like to get involved in during free time.

    2) We do NOT live on a profesional FARM! But we have a shepherd dog, some hens, a rooster and sheep,
    Since we make some extra income from offering B&B we need the only 2 extra rooms available. Therefore, we offer a stay of about a week. In exceptional cases we might prolong the stay to 15 days, 14 nights: a stay of a month or more seems too long for us.

    3) The house-rules to respect:
    -No smoking all over the place, inside and outside
    -No shoes, no drinking nor eating in sleeping areas, yoga room and library.
    -Taking part or turns in preparing food and doing domestic chores are not considered as work-away tasks. They are considered as normal daily occupations which are shared because you are living with us. You are not staying in a hotel.
    -It’s considered as obvious that you join us for breakfast and dinner for socializing (please warn in advance when you can’t be present for a dinner when for example taking your free time/day)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 198293539953