Share our lovely paradise and help out with building or digging or caring for the animals or finding eggs in Gotlands Tofta, Sweden



Favorito 204 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 27 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descrição


    We really need to focus on the building for a while now, so carpenters/handy people/ strong people are extra welcome! Are you used to working with electricity, painting, plastering? That would be super!!
    The garden and other things are now low priority for us, until we are done with most of the renovating.
    So if you want to pick up a hammer and join us, drop us a line!

    Me and my family have left the busy city to move out into the countryside, onto a popular island, to a whole new lifestyle. We are fixing up the house and starting a farm, we have chickens and lots of pets and we are trying to grow some of our food, I bake our sourdough bread and cook as organic as possible. This is a paradise for us and many others who enjoy our beach, the nature around us and maybe also our food!
    We already have our doors open to friends who come and stay for a while and help out with whatever is needed at the moment, now we are thinking maybe there are fun people out there that we don't know yet who would also like to do this?!
    There are 2 main houses on our land; the house in which we live and here we are renovating away the old 70s style that was last put here. The other house is a very old brewhouse, probably from the 1700s sometime, that is in very bad shape. I don't know how much of that we will be able to fix ourselves, but we will try to restore it as much as possible to the original old style.
    There is also a big barn, that we want to make a workshop in, where we can work on our hobbies in metal, wood and with sewing. We also hope to make lots of guestrooms and keep a big open space for yoga retreats, historical swordfighting and PARTIES!
    The land is 3Ha big, so we don't quite know what to do with it all yet. We might let some sheep work on it for a while, to tame the wild fields that are completely untouched since years and years. Around the house we are making a garden to relax in and areas where we are growing vegetables.
    At less than 15 minutes walking, we have a very long lovely sandy beach, with a tourist camping area at one end and an old fishing village at the other. Our road goes down to around the middle, so we often have less crowds there. During our season in summer, there are LOTS of people on this island, in the town mainly but also all around the coast, like our area. People come here for the everpresent history, there are ruins and old churches everywhere and even older structures like graves from the stoneage and natural formations called "rauks" where the sea has eaten away the chalkstone rocks to make fascinating strange sculptures. Not far from our house is the islands biggest "Ship Grave" where big stones are placed in the shape of a ship, probably to mark the grave of a prominent person. In season, there is a restaurant on the camping area, a cafe just around the corner of our house and a lovely bakery a short way away. The bus to town takes 20 minutes and stops right by our barn. We keep a bunch of rusty old bikes to take us to the beach quickly, or other places nearby. In town there are museums, shops, restaurants and lots and lots and lots of tourists in summer!! Especially for a big medieval festival that is more than a week long, where people come from wide and far to have a week visiting the medieval times, our favorite happening all year!
    But in winter... No people anywhere. Quiet. Solitude. Calm. A totally different way of life than what we moved away from. Strange and lovely.

    So now we want to see if people would like coming here to share our lovely paradise for a bit and help out with what we have going on; mostly building in the house or digging in the garden, caring for the animals, finding the eggs! (our chickens run around freely) and going out in the nature around us to pick whatever is in season; mushrooms, berries, herbs and plants. We eat mainly vegetarian and organic foods, but sometimes we get some nice meat that fits our way of looking at life (no factories!) or maybe fish from the gentleman who lives across the road and still fishes at 80+ years of age! We have a guestroom and lots of areas where people can stay. We always find room for guests, even while we are rebuilding in the house now. We love it here and we know many of our friends do too. Now we want to find more friends that we just haven't met yet!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Projetos artísticos

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I love to find out as much as possible about healthy food and living, I have a big kombucha growing in the kitchen and I like learning more about what plants we can eat from the nature around us. The island we live on is bursting with history and art and lots of interesting people have a tendency to end up here, so the place is full of interesting things to see and experience. It's considered a summer paradise with beautiful nature and good weather (for Sweden at least!).

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We would love to find people that are used to building or maybe just strong and handy! We both have bad backs, so things are moving very slowly here right now. Half the time my husband works out to sea, so anyone with a drivers license (unlike me) would be extra handy for shopping in town! And people who enjoy new foods, art, good movies and can put up with my sometimes crappy music are a superplus!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Sami: Fluente
    Swedish: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    We have a guestroom and there's an extra bed in the upstairs hall and when it's warm there's LOTS of room to put up a tent or sleep in the barn!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The bus to town takes about 20 minutes and goes until around midnight, depending on season. We have a car that can be used by people who convince us that they are safe to drive! We also have a bunch of crappy bikes for shorter trips and there is much to see in that range. Museums, nightclubs, restaurants, artgalleries, botanical garden, different theme-weeks and festivals, lots of tourists from all over the world, all this can be found in town and spread around the island. In our area you can also find the total opposite if you want to; peace and quiet...
    We spend most of our time working around the house and taking care of our animals, then we have bursts of activity when people visit or we go away to some happening. People come here and totally invade us now and then, sleeping in every corner, playing strange music into the night and going for midnight beachtrips. But inbetween these sudden wild periods, we like it to be very calm here. We want to relax.
    No smoking in the house, no jumping in the beds and no moving stuff around in the kitchen!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    As long as they get along with our animals on the farm (dog, cats, chickens and the occational hedgehog)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 188193968329