Off-grid on the island of Molokai, USA

Country

EUA

atualizado  

Favorito 793 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    16/08/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    990

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are Bahar and Jayson (and about to have our first baby, Omid, in July 2022). We are welcoming animal lovers and independent, enthusiastic, self-reliant individuals to help us on our land and with our pets! For the past 6 years we hosted friends, volunteers, and workawayers at a farm site/non-profit , on the island of Molokai, Hawaii. We had an incredible time getting to know people from all around the world and found workaway to be an amazing way to share space, culture, stories, and a little bit of work too. After COVID began, The farm site was relocated and we have since moved to another part of the same island to build our own personal house, where we have about 2 acres of land, and have been busy planting trees, building a chicken coop, taking care of our animals (details below), and of course building a house which is still in progress.

    We currently have 4 big dogs: Izzy, Lulu, Pali, and Rocky, and two smaller dogs: Bumpy and Bagel, all of which we rescued as part of our non-profit. We brought 3 of our goats from the previous farm over to our place: Mahina, Malu and Hokulani. We are in the process of getting a few laying hens and we have a few outdoor cats. The land is located on the south shore of Molokai, just 5 miles east of main town, Kaunakakai. Our land has incredible ocean views and is only a 5 minute walk away from the edge of the water.

    As we embark on parenthood on top of trying to finish building our house, we realized we needed extra help with all the daily chores and some planting projects. We really hope to find someone that is interested in longer term (1-3 months). Below we have listed some more details about accommodations, transportation, responsibilities, etc. Please feel free to correspond with any questions or concerns you may have as well.

    **Very important: At the moment there is limited electricity available and no internet (wifi) available on premises but this should be changing soon. There is poor phone signal available where the workaway cottage is located, but as you walk up the hill to the main house and street, you will find most providers will have a signal (may not be strong but good enough).**

    Unfortunately with the arrival of our baby we will have very limited time for spending days/time together, Bahar's parents live a couple miles away and we will be spending most of the time with them in the early months, as we complete our house. Jayson will be stopping by periodically to work on some projects and give guidance and support with any issues on the land. We are looking for a person/people who are extremely self motivated and independent as we won't have a lot of time together day to day. We hope it can be a quiet getaway for someone who needs time for themselves and is ok to explore on their own (of course with lots of tips, suggestions, guidance from us.... as Molokai is not a place to just go anywhere, many places need the permission of local people).

    With this said, it also means most meals you are on your own as well. We can drive you to the grocery store once a week to stock up, and in the meantime you will have access to the bus which comes by the bottom of our land 4-5 times per day, and there is also a bicycle available. If you have a drivers license, we have a truck you can occasionally use.

    Please see below for more detail about lodging.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Neither of us are Hawaiian, but over the years we've been doing our best to educate ourselves about the history of this occupied nation, and are happy to share what we've learned. Some of our dearest friends are Kanaka Maoli (native Hawaiian) and you might have the opportunity to meet some of them while you're here, and learn more about the local culture. Bahar is from Iran and can share her some of her culture with you. Jayson is from Massachusetts but has traveled all over the world and is happy to share his experiences.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Basic maintenance of gardens and fruit trees, feeding dogs, goats and chickens. We really just need someone to make sure all the animals are fed, morning and evening, and the nursery plants are watered daily. Aside from a couple extra projects weekly, most of the day will be available to you to relax enjoy the surroundings.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Persian (Farsi): Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    An 8ft by 12 ft plywood house with a covered outdoor kitchen and a hot shower. A compost toilet/outhouse. Propane coleman stove for cooking. No refrigerator, so a cooler with ice can be used if needed. We hope to have a mini fridge set up by the house we are building, so workawayers can use that anytime, but just have to walk up the hill to access.

    **Very important: There is very limited electricity available, only by an electronic generator and gas powered generator when needed to charge phones, devices, etc. Also, there is no internet (wifi) available on premises. There is no phone signal available where the workaway cottage is located, please be prepared to be completed off grid, not connected to devices as there is no signal in that spot. However, as you walk up the hill to the house and street, you will find most providers will have a signal (may not be strong but good enough).**

    There are a couple places in town, such as the library and drugstore that offer free wi-fi, and there you can work/download/communicate, etc.

    Transportation options: There is a bicycle on premises which can be ridden into town or there is a small bus that is free (donations accepted) that comes by about 4 times per day that can take you to town for internet use or grocery shopping.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have three main rules: Aloha Always. Respect everyone and everything. No Drugs or Alcohol allowed on the farm. If anyone has any questions about the farm, non-profit, the people, or Molokai, please let us know!

    Very important to note, Molokai is unlike any other Hawaiian island. We encourage you to do some research before coming. It is very rural, very little tourism, local people are the kindest but are weary of outsiders, so respect has to be given and earned. Hikes are not available, unless with tour or someone local from the island. Beaches are not always swimmable, mostly in our area they are used for kayaking, fishing, etc. Some parts of the island they are swimmable and we can give you tips on how to get to them. We encourage questions up front to make sure this is the right place for you. We appreciate your time and willingness to come and help us and we will make sure you feel comfortable.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.5)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicação: (4.5)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 169239669419