Help in our lovely rural home and enjoy the surrounding green countryside, Welshpool, UK

Country

Reino Unido

atualizado  

Favorito 439 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    07/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are Nigel and Rebecca. We live on a lovely small holding which is half broadleaved woodland, half pasture, with a stream running right by the house, 2 ponds, large veggie garden, orchard, greenhouse, two dogs, bees, and about 40 breeding ewe sheep and their followers including a reasonably friendly tup (ram) and an outrageously friendly pet sheep called Chumley! For about 6 months of the year we also have about 40 or more lambs.

    Workawayers in the past have loved being here, many of them enjoying walking in our woods or taking a book and climbing up to the top of the hill to sit and read and enjoy the surrounding green countryside. The only buildings you'll see from here are the occasional farm buildings! It is very quiet!

    We love to host people from all over the world, and to have the opportunity to sit together and chat over meal times, where we exchange stories and experiences, and we learn from and about each other. Rebecca enjoys cooking for everyone, but especially for fellow vegetarians!

    We appreciate the help we get from our Workaway guests on our non commercial small holding. Nigel will usually work alongside you carrying out day to day tasks that he would otherwise be doing himself. For bigger works and projects we employ local tradespeople and contractors, so the tasks we ask of you are not hard and ones we would otherwise be doing just by ourselves.

    We are a hobby small-holding, and are totally non commercial. We do not claim government subsidies and do not sell produce to the public.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have been hosting volunteers here since 2010 and have had more than 100 people staying with us (some of them more than once!). We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and often have some great discussions over dinner. A good level of English is necessary as we're pretty hopeless with languages! Our profile on another website has well over 40 five star reviews. In those reviews our volunteers often mention how they learn from Nigel who is always happy to explain and answer questions about our small holding and nature. For many of our guests, it has been their first experience of eating good vegetarian food - and they seem to enjoy it!

    We live in Wales, close to the English border, so there are places to go and visit in both countries. We were both born in England, and don't speak Welsh but you don't need to go far from here to hear Welsh spoken in the shops and streets.

    We have travelled a lot ourselves and worked as volunteers on farms in other countries in our younger days, so are pleased to be able to offer our place to travellers now!

    We usually make time to take our volunteers out for a day, perhaps walking in the hills or to the coast. However this is not possible during lambing time when we have to be around all the time.

    By the way, we welcome workawayers from all over the world and would like to mention that we voted to remain in the EU!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Nigel will usually work alongside you carrying out day to day tasks that he would otherwise be doing himself. You will be helping him in the woodland, garden and fields with tasks such as collecting firewood, weeding, planting, harvesting, cutting back brambles and bracken etc. If it's raining hard, perhaps you can help Rebecca indoors with some ironing, or light cleaning. There may also be an opportunity to help us with looking after the animals including our dog. We expect some help around the house such as washing up after dinner and perhaps cooking the occasional meal.

    For bigger works and projects we employ local tradespeople and contractors, so the tasks we ask of you are not hard and ones we would otherwise be doing just by ourselves

    We normally expect our volunteers to help at least 25 hours a week although we are flexible on how those hours are spread out. We will encourage you to take some time out to visit local sites or perhaps go and experience the Welsh hills or coast for a couple of nights. If we can get away, we often take our Workaway guests out for the day to show them something more of Wales.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We would love to learn a little more of all sorts of European languages, which will help us on our travels. We have had some great discussions on the English language with our guests, around the origin of words and the vagaries of the English language!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer accommodation in a refurbished 16th century cottage which is connected to the main house. This will mean you have your own sleeping & bathroom area though occasionally we may have other guests staying. It is a twin room and so if you are travelling alone, you will be sharing with another volunteer. If you are a couple, we will do our best to accommodate you in a double room, although it will depend on friends we may have coming to stay.

    Often using our own produce, we eat a healthy vegetarian diet (unless Nigel manages to smuggle in some sausages!) and we'll feed you well! Our meals are usually highly vegetable, salad and fruit based, so you need to like all your veggies and fruit.

    We have wi-fi and you will get a good connection in your room, but the quality is variable and you won't be able to stream if we're using the internet elsewhere. We don't have a signal here for mobile phones but you can use the internet for calls or just wander up our lane and will get a signal there! You are welcome to use our sitting room to watch TV. Life here is quiet and pretty peaceful.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We take time to enjoy the wonderful surrounding countryside. We are near to Powis Castle with its stunning grounds, the beautiful black and white village of Berriew, the ancient town of Montgomery, the Montgomery Canal (great for running and easy walking) and the Welshpool & Llanfair Light (steam) Railway. The Welsh mountains and coast are an easy day trip by train. The beautiful and historic towns of Shrewsbury & Ludlow are not far either.

    Of course the downside of being tucked away as we are, means that we're almost 2 miles from the nearest bus stop! But we are are happy to take you to the bus from the village or the mainline train station in Welshpool.

    We are fully vaccinated against Covid, and as you will be living with us in our home, we ask that you are fully vaccinated as well, and take a lateral flow test a day or two before arriving here, and 2 days after you get here, to keep us all safe.

    We should also mention that we do keep bees. They do not cause us any trouble and you will not be doing any work with them. But if you have an allergy to bee stings, this is not the place for you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)


















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 167847293821