Help needed for a campervan conversion in Hégenheim, France



Favorito 503 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

  • Descrição


    Hi, we're Rita, Victor and Peach!

    Over the course of the past year we converted a Renault Master van (L2H2) into a campervan, with the intention of living in it and travelling as far as India, with many stops in between. However, Covid 19 quickly put an end to those travel dreams. So instead we decided to finish the van and take him on a spin around France for a few weeks as a test drive of life in the van. The result: it's too small. Peach, our 2 year old 55kg Kangal dog takes up more space than we were willing to admit. So, we decided to sell this campervan and start again from scratch!

    We are in the search for a van, this time a little bigger (L3/L4/L5 H2/H3). We hope to have the van by September, when we will take 2 months for the conversion. As with our previous van, we will install a dry toilet, a shower, a water heating system, a heating system, a gas system (for fridge, cookers, and water heater) as well as a bed, storage, and other van essentials. We will also add a solar panel system for electricity in the van.

    We are looking for someone who has experience in this area - campervan conversion, furniture construction *from scratch* - we do not mean Ikea furniture building - woodwork, metalwork, electrical/plumbing. Ideally, people who know their way around jigsaws, circular saws, drills, is who we're seeking. Unfortunately, due to our tight time schedule we can't accept workawayers without relevant experience for this project.

    We will be based in Victor's home village, a beautiful Alsatian commune 200m from the Swiss border. Living arrangements will be simple, in the converted barn of a previous workaway project of Victor's. All the necessities will be provided: hot water, toilet, shower, meals. As part of a food recuperation association ( we are what you could define as 'freegans', with a preference for vegetarian options. For this 'freegan' reason we cannot ensure a vegan option for workawayers. There is a lot to offer in the region, not only the delicious food and wine. With a bike there is an endless amount of activities and sights to see.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    The region is very special, with French, Swiss and German influences. We can help you discover this region, most notably the cuisine, as well as cuisine from around the world.

  • Ajuda


    As we've explained above, we seek people with experience in construction, be it woodwork, metalwork, furniture creation ans construction. Having a creative flair is greatly welcomed also!

    Please read the bio that I've created for this project carefully. The chores and skills listed are very much true to form. Unfortunately this isn't the workaway experience where we can teach you many more skills, we would very much appreciate for you to arrive with some knowledge of construction already.

    I understand it is difficult to give a concrete amount of time for staying before you even arrive but please be realistic when defining how long you will stay - it helps us greatly in planning the project.

    One more thing, if you recognise yourself in the following list please reconsider contacting me as it may not be the workaway for you :)
    - sleep through alarm clock every morning and need 12 hours of sleep each night
    - broken heart
    - extreme mood swings or other psychological imbalances

    We've had a couple of bad experiences with workawayers who had some of the aspects listed above. As we live beside a community of 7 other housemates we're trying to make the best environment possible for everyone.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação


    You will have an area in the converted barn next to the house. The area is as good as a bedroom, with bed and privacy.
    The house is a previous project of Victor's which he completed with the help of many workawayers over the course of 3 years. Now, the house is full with 7 housemates, who are all very chill and friendly. We will share cooking and chill space with these housemates, as well as bathrooms.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    If you contact us, do not send a novel, please be concise and effective in your message :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of quiet space for a van

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Flexible, max 25

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 151494811897