Help with the Home and Maintenance in Andalucia, Spain

  • Espanha
  • Favorito 336 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18/12/2022

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are artists, middle-aged, with an international background but living part time in Spain. We speak English, Russian and Spanish. For hobbies we love to travel and cook, read and watch films.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Life in a Spanish village is a beautiful cultural experience. The tranquility, friendliness, and truly Spanish lifestyle is a window into another world. You can work on your Spanish, and learn about the world of olives and almonds. There are artists about, and there is time for reading, walking and contemplation. Weekends offer buses to Ronda, Seville, Jerez and Malaga. We do not have "culture" in the sense of museums, exhibitions, and classical concerts, but the sense of mediterranean life pace is strong and rich.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    A passion for organization, building care and cooking would be of great use to us.

    The house, an ancient masonry building which requires frequent, small repairs and needs a basic hard scrub, is being neglected. As do all Andalusian country houses, it needs annual scraping and re-painting in spots. There is daily cooking to be done with our limited but delicious local produce. Do you have a passion for healthy cooking? Does your heart soar with pleasure when a good house is brought into good working order? We might be a match.

    We send a special invitation to adventurers who look at the care of a house as a fulfilling endeavor, and not a heinous chore. We have had extremely rewarding visitors in the past to help with office work, with the creation of videos, and data organization, and we look forward meeting new, interesting travelers.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a simple but clean guest bedroom on a separate floor from ours, a queen sized bed, semi-underground (this is a good thing in Andalusia in summer), adjacent guest bathroom with a shower, toilet and bath. The guest bedroom is the coolest and darkest place in the house, we call it the sleeping cave. These rooms are in a house roughly 300 years old where we live mostly on the second floor. There is a beautiful roof terrace which is lovely when it's not hot. The house is in the old town high on a hill in a Pueblo Blanco of Spain in the province of Cadiz, but on the border of the province of Malaga and Sevilla (inland, not coastal). There is a good kitchen where we share some meals, but where volunteers can also prepare and tidy up their own meals. Self-help is encouraged, as long as one cleans up nicely afterwards. Vegetarians cook with joy in our village, where local produce is seasonal and divine. (Not so easy for vegetarians in the tapas bars...) There is a coffee maker and the ability to brew good tea. One can eat inside or in the patio or on the roof, when the heat permits. There is wifi. No car is provided. The house has no airconditioning, but the ground floor generally remains under 26 degrees in summer or around 20 in coldest winter.. In summer a tolerance for heat is absolutely required. In Winter warm clothes come in handy intermittently. We have some books and films in the house, in English and Russian. Near the guest bedroom is a dining room, where volunteers can set up a private office at all times except dinner parties. The village is completely pedestrian-friendly. Buses to other towns run once or twice a day. Sometimes you can hitch a ride. It's great to sit at cafes, go for long walks, read and write, and make new friends, both Spanish and English-speaking ex-patriots.
    We have room for one workaway.com guest or couple at a time.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The village is very restful. This can mean boring to those who require cinema, museums, etc, but to creatives and free-spirited roamers it is paradisical. It is very friendly. There are many simple bar/cafes, a decent library, and occasional flamenco/musical performances provided by the city. There are a few, small, charming bars for young people. There is good walking for the morning or evening. The greatest joy about this town is to take a nice long walk, and several times stop somewhere for a good cup of cafe con leche in a cafe, read a book and write a postcard, then move on to the next one. The Spanish have taught us to breath when we are not working. It is a wonderful thing.
    There is in summer a public pool, and we have bicycles (again, providing you can take the heat or cold, and if you have the endurance for high hills). By bus there is access to Ronda, Seville, Cordoba, Cadiz and the beaches of Costa del Sol. There are roughly 100 English-speaking ex patriots. Getting away by bus for the weekend is easy, costs about 11 euro each way on the bus. The weather is universally hot and dry in summer through October. Cooking here is lots of fun for us. The wine is good and relatively cheap.

    Formal art instruction is NOT included in the work stay. The dining room can be used by volunteers as an office for writing or reading.

    We have hosted people before, and enjoyed the process very much.

    We keep varying hours, usually sleeping roughly between 1 am and 9 am, and can be very social and curious. At other times we need to be left alone. We love articulate interesting people who can socialize but who essentially can entertain themselves. We love people from other cultures, and we want to welcome to our home volunteers who are open minded about world cultures as well.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    about 4 hours per day, five days per week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 145232519791

Comentário (5)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)