Help out on a small hobby farm with huskies in Chipman, Alberta, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 222 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    13/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    163

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Looking for some help on the farm while I am coming and going with work out of town. Would prefer someone who can stay for at least 3 months. Would suit two friends or a couple.

    I have 80 acres approximately an hour east of Edmonton and have been creating a small hobby farm over the last couple of years. I also have 8 Siberian husky sled dogs, mostly rescues who have been with me for over ten years.

    The farm is home to the huskies, some sheep and chickens, and some donkeys and horses belonging to friends who are housesitting for me at the moment, as well as two cats and an Akbash sheep dog who wandered in one day last year and decided to live here and guard the sheep.

    I have a few older huskies who would prefer to be house dogs and would benefit from some extra company as I am working out of town for a while. I have some friends who are looking after my animals while I am away, and now that the weather is improving it is time to restart some projects on the farm and do spring clean up for the animals.

    You need to be ok with being outside in the cold, as the weather can be quite changeable, otherwise you just need to love animals and be comfortable taking responsibility for the routine of keeping the animals safe and happy.

    Have been trying to plant a vegable garden for a couple of years, but always too busy, would be good to get help with getting that set up too when the ground unfreezes in the next few weeks.

    If you have clean driving history and an International Drivers licence, I have a spare vehicle that you can be insured for if you want to pay the additional premium. There is no public transport where I am, so it will be a couple of months of life on the farm with the occasional trip out. There are two rooms available, I will be here for the odd visit, so you will have the place to yourself most of the time, there is very good internet here.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Experience of living on a small working farm, enjoying the Alberta outdoors, getting experience of all aspects of animal care and exposure to long term commitment of caring for a sled dog team. Relaxed way of life, National Park is 15 minutes drive away.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Feeding huskies twice a day. Lots of cuddles required before and after meals. Daily feed and watering for sheep and lambs, chickens, stall clean outs after winter and going. Help with gardening and some fencing, putting in a vegetable garden, clearing up the area around the duck pond, possibly help incubating chicks and caring for newly hatched chickens.

    Aount five yours each day to check on the animals food and water and help out with repair works and projects on the farm

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Own room.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Downtown Edmonton is an hour away, Elk Island National Park is 15 minutes drive away. If you have a clean driving history and International Drivers licence, there is a vehicle that volunteers can use on their time off if you want to pay the additional insurance premium. I have hosted workaways for about 5 years before Covid, and had some of their family members over to visit. They have also used the car to do some touring trips during their stay.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Excellent wifi

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 123738848437