Willow

  • États-Unis
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (1)

Explorer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

    Ma prochaine destination :

    Costa Rica - du Jan 2023 au Fév 2023
    Voir tout
  • Description

    Hello! My name is Willow and I am 20 years old and am a sophomore at Georgetown University. My passion for environmental sustainability and conservation is what gets me out of bed every morning and I am happiest when I’m outside!! I am creating my own major called Humanistic Ecology and focuses on discovering ecological-inspired, locally derived solutions to the global cultural flaws that have led to the climate crisis. It is grounded in reciprocity & relationality and has three major themes: rational sustainable alternatives to transform how we interact with the natural world, shifting value systems to those that align with mutualistic flourishing of the land & people rather than infinite profit & growth, and addressing environmental & social justice issues of the past, fixing those of the present, and in general deconstructing the cultural & structural systems of violence that allow those with privilege to maintain power.

    I am hoping to do research in South America this spring on Indigenous communities' perspectives & opinions on how developed countries should go about confronting the climate crisis. Specifically, I am hoping to research Indigenous communities' opinions on how developed countries should implement Traditional Ecological Knowledge in the fight against climate change. Throughout this time, I am also hoping to learn more about permaculture, cultural traditions, medicinal herbs, and foraging.

    I am outgoing, bubbly, and love to go on adventures. I also love to hike, do yoga, and learn about anything and everything! I am a very hard worker with a can-do attitude and put 110% into everything I do. I am also relentlessly optimistic, mostly a blessing but sometimes a curse :)

    Yo hablo español y je parle français. I can get by in both languages (and of course, English), but am not fluent (but am hoping to be soon!).
    The past two summers I have lived in Kaua'i, HI and worked on a regenerative agriculture farm & composting facility, which has been an amazing experience. I have knowledge about permaculture, composting, building infrastructure, and Indigenous philosophy that I hope to share, and I hope to learn lots from you as well!

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Montagne
    Nature
    Camping
    Auto-stop
    Voile / bateau
    Sports nautiques
    Fitness
    Yoga / bien-être
    Activités en plein air
    Randonnée
    Vie en van
    Ferme
    Jardinage
    Menuiserie
    Dev. durable
    Animaux de compagnie
    Langues
    Écriture
    Livres
    Musique

    montrer plus
  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Ce workawayer a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa ou ses propre(s) langue(s) ou en apprendre une nouvelle. Veuillez le contacter directement pour en discuter.

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    S’occuper des animaux

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Langues
    Enseignement
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I am very knowledgeable about environmental issues, permaculture, composting, and switching to sustainable alternatives/off-the-grid living. I am studying Humanistic Ecology at Georgetown University, where I hope to answer the question of how can humanity as a whole reconnect with the natural world from which we have alienated ourselves.
    I have my SCUBA certification, WFR certification, as well as experience gardening, cooking, and teaching yoga (I do not have my certification but my sister is a yoga teacher and I have learned a lot from her! I also am very interested in getting my certification if anyone knows of any teacher trainings in the jungle :)). I am a master of organization and I am very active and can help with more laborious projects!

  • Âge

    20

  • Autres infos...

    I have a lot of experience babysitting kids of all ages! I have nannied for 2 families for 4 months, have babysat since I was 12, and have a brother that's 7 years younger that I grew up taking care of! I really like taking kids into the outdoors and showing them how to be curious and love the world :).
    I also love being in nature as well as meeting new people, hearing about their lives, and having deep discussions on the nature of society and our place in the world.
    I believe having gratitude and practicing reciprocity are the most important things in life. Looking forward to the adventures that come and the memories I make! :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Vegan

Amis

Photos

Feedback