Origine: Serbie

  • ...

    Type de compte

    Compte individuel

  • ...


    Colombie, Pérou

  • ...

    Dates de voyage

    01.12.2017 - 31.05.2027

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

Watch my profile video

  • Mon statut

    en voyage

    I'll stay in Colombia for a while... :)

    Voy a quedarme en Colombia un rato... :)

  • Description

    This article is quite a bit long, but believe me - this is a shorter version! That's because I want to provide you all important information about me... but I don't have a Facebook page. :) So, if you want to find out something about me, you'll need to read all this down there. Yes, I know, it's a lot of text. That's why I've split it into smaller parts, so you can jump straight to skill section to find out that I'm good with a shovel. :) Good luck with reading!

    Why Workaway?

    Because I want to travel throughout the whole continent, to meet different cultures, to see all of the nature, to learn new skills, to get new experiences, to learn language. I want to help others to realize their dream, and as a return, they will help me to realize mine. One day, maybe, I will also build a house of cob or plant an organic garden, or open a small hostel on the ocean coast. I will need some knowledge for that. Maybe I'll find my perfect place where I will settle down. Maybe I'll meet some interesting people with interesting ideas. I believe that many doors will open to me as the time will passing by.

    About me

    I was born in small place in Serbia, country in south-east Europe, created after crush of Yugoslavia. With my family (father, mother and two younger sisters) I’ve been moving a lot, so as a kid I became familiar with nomadic way of life. In my childhood I survived civil war, and after that in my youth NATO intervention (read: bombing), and one violent revolution a couple of years later... it's never boring on Balkan peninsula.
    After graduating from grammar school I moved to Belgrade, capital city, center of culture, education, economy and also famous for its night life. Although I was also interested in social science (in that time especially in psychology), I enrolled and later graduated at Faculty of Forestry. Unfortunately, in my country, there were no jobs for forests engineers, so the next ten years I’ve been working different jobs to ensure money for living. And then, recently, I figured out that I could do the same on the continent I've been in love for my whole life.

    About jobs, skills, experiences and work ethics

    For those ten years I've tried myself in a very wide range of jobs, from pure manual ones to pure intellectual. I’ve enjoyed most in working as an instructor in adrenaline park, then in working for some time in my profession (in forest), then selling books on street, working with refugees for MSF... Of course, I worked also some less demanding jobs: trade, transport, cleaning objects, bartending, building... During last two years here, in South America, I worked a lot in tourism, especially in hosteling and in touristic agencies, gained some real cash there... Beside paid jobs, I took part in some volunteering actions and those jobs were mainly physical, like: painting, digging, cleaning, taking care of animals etc. In my working experiences I can count growing plants and mushrooms and planting trees. There were also some writing articles, working on scanners and printers, picking fruits, organizing hiking tours, preparing food, building boats (just one to be precise, but it was unforgettable experience)... I have worked with a very different tools, from hammer and shovel to motor chainsaw and electrical grinder. One thing is sure, I’m not afraid of hard work.
    I belong to type of people with a strong working ethic. I like job to be done as it should be, even if it needs more time. I work by the book, and I'm not big fan of improvisation. That doesn't mean that I'm not creative, but if there is a good, reliable and proven way to do the job, I won't be the one who reinvents the wheel. I’m a team player, but only if all team members are truly committed to the same goal. If that's not a case, I would rather do the job alone, just to be sure that it is done as it should be. I'm a fast-learner, and I’m not scared to ask if I'm not sure about something.
    I like to learn new skills, so I will prefer hosts from whom I can learn new things.

    About my previous Workaway experiences (READ THIS PLEASE)

    In last two years I participated in more than twenty different Workaway projects, with a wide range of tasks. The majority of my experiences were very positive, some of them extraordinary positive. It was very hard to leave some places because I knew that I was leaving something incredible. On the other hand, there were a couple of not so great Workaways, usually because of lack of organization, too many working hours or lack of food.
    In order to avoid these experiences in the future, as an experienced volunteer, I'd like to give a couple of recommendations, addressed primarily to new hosts:
    1) organize the job (plan our activities in advance, make a list, what things had to be done, how many persons for each task is necessary, how much time do you estimate is necessary for each task, what are the tasks that could be done on a rainy day, what are priorities, what things do you need to provide before starting with the work etc...)
    2) provide the tools and materials (don't expect that we can do the magic with one hammer and one screwdriver... sometimes it is possible to improvise, but a lot of time that's not possible, or it's just unnecessary lost of time and energy)
    3) provide the food (if in your profile it's written that you provide the food - do it; hungry volunteer can't work well)
    4) be patient (for most of the volunteers, especially the young ones, this will be the first time to do something, show them, explain them, give answers to the questions)
    In my personal case there are two important things I'm always concerned about: food and internet. As a long term budget traveler I usually apply only for volunteerings where I'll be completely covered with the food (however I can make some exceptions sometimes). It doesn't matter if it's prepared or I need to prepare it. I just don't like to be hungry and I don't like to spend my money for food if I work five or more hours a day. With the Internet the situation is different. I don't need it all the time, but I need it sometimes. Because of that I would appreciate very much if you put on your profile real situation with the Internet so I could organize myself in advance and not to be unpleasantly surprised.
    My best volunteerings came from places where were more volunteers (so we had intensive cultural exchange), where there were some natural or historical sights near to be visited or from the places where I could learn some new skills. Your place doesn't have to have all of that, but if it does you'll probably go up to the top on my list of unforgettable Workaway experiences. :)

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Voile / bateau
    Sports d'aventure
    Activités en plein air
    Dev. durable
    Films et télé
    Cuisine et alimentation

    montrer plus
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider à la maison
    Travail associatif
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / Internet

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    Some of known skills and abilities that may be useful are: computer work (MS Office and Internet), international driving licence (regular cars and motorcycles), POS terminals, cash registers, climbing equipment, use of English and Spanish language, data entry, experience with different kinds of mechanical and electrical tools, working with people (bars, hostels, shops)…

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Croatian: Courant
    Serbian: Courant
    Italien: Débutant

  • Âge


  • Nationalité


  • Autres infos...

    More details about me:

    My two main hobbies are mountaineering and reading. If there's a prominent peak close to your home I'll do my best to climb it. Also, I'll do my best to learn Spanish as soon as possible, so I could read my favorite South-American writers in their native language (I'm almost there).
    I am a vegetarian for last twelve years. For ethical reasons. But I'm not from those aggressive ones. :) Also, I try to avoid any GMO products.
    I basically don't drink alcohol (ocasional beer is ok or just to try new local drink). I don't smoke cigarettes, but smokers don't bother me.
    I watch soccer. I am supporter of Manchester United and enjoy watching Premier League, IMHO the most competitive soccer league in the world. :)
    I am ecologically aware and responsible.
    I love nature and I enjoy spending time in wild surrounding. I camp since I remember. Love equally seas and mountains.
    I am religious person, but I don't like to talk about religion. I respect other's opinions, but I think that spirituality is something we really miss in these modern times.
    I like adrenaline sports. Some of activities I’ve tried are: bungee-jumping, parachute, body suspension, zip-lining, survival races, rock climbing, paintball, rafting, carting etc...
    I'm an active car driver, and also used to ride motorcycle. I enjoy to ride a bike, on road and off road.
    I like hitchhiking. Three years ago, I was hitchhiking across Europe - unforgettable experience! UPDATE: I hitchhiked across Argentina, throughout Bolivia, Peru, Chile and Ecuador. This is probably the way I'll come to your place. :)
    You can see my profile on, but I don't think you will find something new there, if you've already read whole this above. :)
    I am covered with health insurance, no worries about that. ;)

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial