Desi

  • Pays-Bas
  • Connectez-vous pour voir la dernière activité

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Information du profil

  • Information de voyage

    Actuellement, je suis

    à la maison

  • Description

    Hello workaway! My name is Desi and I am a 22-years old female from the Netherlands. I grew up in a small town next to the beach and so I call the sea my home. I have always felt a strong connection with water and a few years ago I discovered surfing. After tasting these adventures and moments, I am left with a mind dreaming of waves. There are some in the Netherlands, but I am excited the improve my surf skills and meet other water enthusiasts while traveling.

    I would describe myself as cheerful, hard-working, calm, social and passionate about what I am doing. I am always open for spontaneity and open conversations. I enjoy cooking, just started climbing and bouldering a bit and love to read and be creative.

    The past two years I have been following a bachelor course at university in Anthropology and Development Sociology and am currently based in Amsterdam. It feels very welcoming and safe where I am living now. The course teaches you to constantly reflect upon your own assumptions in order to understand other people's worldview. It tries to connect grander themes and societal questions with stories from a human perspective. I have been enjoying it so far and have learned a ton.

    Workaway is an amazing platform that gives you the opportunity to spend more time with the people you meet on the way. I have had some amazing volunteer experiences so far and I am excited to get into some more adventures in the nearby future. So far I helped out at a chili farm in Portugal, picked olives, taught English to 3 till 10 years olds and helped with planting coffee trees and building with natural material. I am at my happiest surrounded by nature and am open to volunteer at some more remote places.

    I completed a Yoga Teacher Training in the mountains of Nepal and am a certified Hatha Yoga teacher, ready to share the balance and physical awareness I experience while practicing yoga myself. During the training I practiced yoga at the Nepal Yoga Academy, which provided me with a traditional and disciplined style of yoga.

  • Centres d’intérêt

    Plage
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / bien-être
    Ferme
    Animaux
    Livres
    Musique
    Cuisine et alimentation
    Culture
  • Compétences et connaissances que j'aimerais partager ou apprendre

    Ça m'intéresse :  

    Jardinage
    Aider dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux

    J'ai des connaissances :  

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique des langues
    Projets artistiques

    Je peux apprendre aux autres :  

    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Accueil / tourisme
  • Quelles sont vos compétences ?

    I see myself as widely employable, as I love to learn new skills and am interested in different fields. I am not afraid for some physical work, while combining muscles with positivity. I like to work with my hands, mostly when it involves rooting in the earth. I volunteered on some farms before and am eager to try this again.

    In March 2019 I finished my Hatha yoga teacher training in Nepal and am a qualified yoga teacher now. Most of the times I teach friends or colleagues, as I prefer to keep yoga as something that feels free instead of something is obligatory next to studies and/or work. It always makes me feel very happy to teach and see other people challenge themselves and become more calm. If there is an opportunity to teach yoga at your place I would love to teach some classes.

    Next to this I have a lot of experience in hospitality. I started working in a lunchroom at the age of 14 and am currently still making coffees and walking around with trays while making people feel at home. That led me to strengthen my social and communication skills. I love combining cooking and dancing around and see it as a challenge to be creative in the kitchen.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Hollandais: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

    Plus de détails sur les langues qui m'intéressent
    Interested in learning Portuguese and/or Spanish :-)

    Trouver un partenaire de langue

  • Âge

    23

  • Nationalité

    Dutch

  • Informations complémentaires

    • Fumeur

    • Permis de conduire

    • Allergies

    • Régime alimentaire spécial
      Preferably vegan, but allow myself to be flexible if the situation asks for it

Feedback


Amis

Photos

Feedback