Sami family looking for some help at our home and with the reindeers in Kautokeino, Norway

Country

Norvège

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 42 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Sami family looking for some help at our home and in the tundra with the reindeers.
    We live in Northern Norway in a small town named Kautokeino.
    Our family is made up of Ellen (mother, 35) and Mahtte (father, 40) and our three daughters, ages 12, 8 and 5.
    We also have dogs that sometimes live at home and sometimes go to work with the reindeer.
    Ellen has a full time office job and also works at home taking care of the children.
    Our family also has many reindeer.
    Reindeer herding is very varied, and our live style is dependent on the reindeer and the weather, so we live day to day. Sometimes it can be very busy, and some days we can just relax.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a Sami family living in the heart of Sapmi.
    The Sami are the indigenous group of Northern Europe and we have a very distinct culture that travellers can learn about.
    Our culture is centered around the reindeer; it is involved in all aspects of our life.
    Our town, Kautokeino, is often called the capital of the Sami world, and we have a museum, the Sami university, the Sami radio station, and the Sami national theater here, so there are lots of opportunities to learn about our culture.
    You can also try to learn our language, Sami, when staying with us. 90% of people in Kautokeino speak Sami so it's easy to practice.

    There are lots of outdoor activities to do in Kautokeino too, like hiking, skiing, etc. In the winter we have the Northern lights and in the summer we have the midnight sun, so it's truly a remarkable place to experience!
    We live very close to the Finnish and Swedish borders also, and we often go skiing in Finland so Workawayers are welcome to join us.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for both help with the reindeer and also around the house and with our children.

    Reindeer:
    Reindeer herding can be hard work sometimes, and therefore we want people who can commit to stay for at least 1 month, so that they can learn all about how to take care of the reindeer. It is not something you can learn in just 1 week! Also, this is Northern Norway, so it can get very cold in the winter. Most of the work with the reindeer is done outside, and sometimes you have to stay outside for hours, so we are looking for someone who is in good shape and likes to be outside and with animals. We have lots of warm clothes that we can share with helpers!
    Mahtte needs help feeding the reindeer in the winter. This involves driving the snowmobiles into the tundra and giving them food. It would be great if you have experience with snowmobiles, but if not we can teach you.
    In the spring, we need people to watch after the reindeer, especially the newborn calves, to make sure that they are safe from wolves and other predators.
    In the summer, help is needed to mark the reindeer calves.
    We also always need help to fix the fences used to keep reindeer from running away.

    Housework/Kids:
    As both parents as working during the day, we need some help around the house and with our girls. We can always use help cooking dinner, cleaning up around the house, feeding and walking the dogs, and playing with the children.
    Sometimes we need help picking the young one up from kindergarden.
    The kids speak perfect English and they really like to practice talking English with workawayers!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Workawayers will have a private room in our house and a shared bathroom. We eat dinner together, and Workawayers can use our food to make their own breakfast and lunch.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 998147223762