Join us and help out with some small home improvements, gardening and pet care in Ware, MA, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 58 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    741

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple working to rehab an 1800's house in Ware, MA. We've come a long way since starting last summer, and are now looking to work on the landscaping and gardening this coming summer, as well as additional interior painting.

    We are both educators, open minded, and friendly. We like to host guests, hold communal dinners, explore hikes in the area, and play board games. We would welcome you to join in and you are welcome to have guests over as long as they are respectful of the house and inhabitants*. Our cat Gwen enjoys finding the sunny spot on the couch, running around the house like a maniac, and cuddles. Our rabbit Senator Bunny Sanders enjoys hopping around the house in search of fuzzy socks, getting treats, and being adorable. Herman the axolotl likes eating worms and smiling. We have ten hens: Emmy Lou, Linda, Stevie, Miley, Patti, Brandi, Taylor, Della, & Jennie for fresh eggs (bonus if you can guess the theme of the hen's names!)

    *We are fully vaccinated and are taking COVID safety precautions as recommended, but are starting to have vaccinated guests back into our house.

    The house is 1900 sq ft with large yard, fire pit, garden, and a short walk to nearby shops. We are on a busy street so traffic can be noisy during the day but tends to quiet down at night. Close to the Quabbin trails, Amherst, Northampton, Springfield, and Worcester.

    This space is perfect for artists, entrepreneurs, writers... you will have plenty of time to work on your own projects here.

    Currently accepting Workawayers for September & October.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This help exchange experience will give you the flexibility to explore the area and dive deep into local culture and nature, while getting hands on experience gardening, caring for animals, and home improvement.

    While we aren't able to provide all meals (beyond breakfast ingredients, basic staples, homemade Kombucha, bread, & yogurt and what is grown/raised and occasional shared meals) We can instead offer a few bonuses to hopefully add to your experience:

    -The hours/schedule are flexible to give you a chance to explore the area, work on personal projects, or find local work.

    -Access to my garage pottery studio with wheel and kiln and supplies. I can teach the basics!

    - Learn how to vermicompost (composting with worms to build soil biology)

    - Learn how to brew Kombucha, make sourdough, and ferment yogurt

    - Learn how to grow microgreens and mushrooms indoors, and you are always welcome to eat what you help grow!

    -A car will not be provided, but we can arrange to drive you places when I am available and/or can pick up any supplies you need. If you have a drivers license in the states you might have an opportunity to borrow the car if all works out.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help:
    - Home Improvement: Mostly interior painting, but also some carpentry and landscaping if you are able
    - Gardening: Help maintain the kitchen garden, plant berry bushes, trees, etc. We are open to any and all ideas! You are welcome to any of the food you help grow.
    - Help with the "Jungle Room": microgreens, gourmet mushrooms, worm composting, blatticomposting
    - House chores: Help out with shared cleaning, tidying, lawn care, etc. tasks as needed
    - Pet Care: help with daily care for our cat, rabbit, axolotl, and chickens

    Upcoming Project Ideas:
    - Build more cold frames to extend the growing season
    - Replacing the lawn: Planting native flowers & clovers
    - Composting/vermicompost - building continuous flow-through bins (CFTs)
    - Cutting back bittersweet
    - Upstairs Painting (There's always painting!)
    - Build porch railings/replace lattice
    - Gutter maintenance
    - Embed bricks along driveway


    We are looking for someone that is comfortable with animals, independent, a good communicator, and reliable. We are open to you potentially bringing a well-behaved pet.

    You won't be asked to help more than 20 hours/week. Hours are very flexible. A mix of recurring daily tasks, independent tasks list, and group projects. We usually come up with a list of things that could get done and leave it to you to decide what you find interesting! Flexible time off.

    If this is the kind of thing you are looking for, send us a message with a bit about yourself and why you think you'd be a good fit!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Especially interested in practicing/relearning Spanish!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private room in a house with a comfortable full size futon. Access to shared bathroom, kitchen, and common areas. Bedroom is upstairs and bathroom and kitchen are downstairs. Relax in the living room, borrow one of our many books, or watch TV/movies (we have Netflix). You will be able to use the WiFi and indoor Washer/Dryer.

    The bedroom is furnished with a comfortable full sized futon, chair/table, mirror, and closet. You will have shared access to the bathroom (downstairs), living spaces, spacious kitchen, and outdoor areas. Opportunity to grow your own food in the garden. The house is 1900 sq ft with large yard, fire pit, garden, and a short walk to nearby shops. We are on a busy street so traffic can be noisy during the day, but tends to quiet down at night. It is an old house so pipes can also be noisy when the heat is on! We do not have A/C in the summer, just fans. Close to the Quabbin trails, Amherst, Northampton, Springfield, and Worcester.

    The house is shared with me and my husband (Cameron), but there will be times that you are alone on the property when we are away. We would expect you to be responsible for cleaning up after yourself and preparing most your own meals. Basic food and breakfast ingredients will be provided (flour, spices, oatmeal, cereal, rice, oil, milk, eggs, baking ingredients, etc.) with fresh eggs from the chickens most days. You are welcome to harvest any food from the garden or land. We also often have kombucha, microgreens, and mushrooms. Sometimes homemade yogurt and sourdough. We will try to do at least 1 shared meal/week, but for the most part you will be responsible for your own meals. We also welcome you to prepare a shared meal as part of your 'work' - we will purchase the ingredients.

    There is plenty of parking so you are welcome to bring your own car. If you don't have a car we can arrange to drive you places when available and/or can pick up any supplies you need. We are within walking distance of grocery stores and restaurants, and an up-and-coming town center.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are close to many hiking trails and are happy to give recommendations. There is a farmstead nearby with excellent produce and artisan crafts. We have 2 kayaks and bicycles you can borrow. Grocery store is within walking distance. I am happy to help arrange trips to nearby sights, shops, etc. and can drive you when I am available. We can also arrange a day trip to Boston so that you can experience the city (non-covid times).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a high speed internet connection. Your private room has a desk and there are also shared work areas in the living room, dining room, and outdoor picnic area (although the wifi doesn't always cooperate outside) Plenty of coffee & tea to share!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a backyard and wrap-around driveway for you to park in. Maximum of 1 month stay, sorry. The backyard feels isolated and rural - complete with picnic table, fire pit, and hammock... but we are close to a busy road and the traffic can be noisy during the day.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum of 20 hours/week. Very flexible

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 992499198483