Help us with gardening and other farm projects in Nelson, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 0 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Our home & acreage is a beautiful work in progress, 5 minutes from downtown Nelson. We are a fun, hardworking family of 4. We enjoy camping, canoeing, skiing, climbing & mountain biking in our spare time and always have various projects on the go. Melissa is the "starter", a national-award-winning Master Photographer, author and tech entrepreneur...and Cam is the "finisher", holding a doctorate in history & a black belt in karate. Our kids are calm, good-natured and all around pretty awesome.

    We bought the property 12 years ago from a woman in her 90's who had spent her entire life here. According to our neighbours the house and property back in the day was incredible and since her husband died 30 years ago...the mountain/mother nature had slowly started to take the land back.

    Since we moved in, we've done major renos on the house. In fact, we called it our "gutter-upper" for many years. We've done almost everything ourselves and built a suite and a tiny home on the property too.

    The 6 acres of land we are just finally getting to now.

    We are situated on a north-facing mountain property with 1 acre of established perennial gardens, old rock walls and many fruit trees. We have about half an acre of open Douglas Maple forest, followed by 4.5 acres of large Fir, Cedar, Hemlock & the occasional Yew backing onto crown land. We have a few short established trails in the back and a creek that runs 10 months out of the year.

    A century ago, the land was used for orchards and animals. We have two transparent apple trees from that era. We also have two other apples (unsure of type), Royal Anne cherry, Bing cherries, crab apple, hazelnuts, elderberry, saskatoon berries, raspberries, blueberries, thimbleberries and pear, peach & plum trees that aren't yet producing fruit.

    As for your experience, well, to start off - we're a 5 minute drive to Baker St. in Nelson...or a 20 minute walk. So in your time off, you're super close to coffee shops, restaurants & shops. We have lots of mountain biking and hiking within 20 minutes and tons more if you venture out further. And there are lots of sandy beaches to choose from for lazy afternoons.

    Accommodations will vary depending on timing. We have a one-bedroom suite & and a tiny home we often operate as a bnb - so in the shoulder season, we'll happily put you up there. Otherwise, there is a room in the house BUT we are working on a woofer bunkhouse/cabin in the back with an outdoor kitchen/shower/bathroom (need help on this right now!). We could also potentially accommodate a small travel trailer/campervan in the driveway.

    We have a hot tub on site, a sauna with a cold plunge in the creek, a climbing wall in the basement and a trampoline in the back.

    Our diet is varied and nonspecific. You can expect well-balanced, healthy home-cooked meals with plenty of veggies, meats, baked goods, and excellent coffee and tea :). We cannot accommodate major dietary issues as we only cook one meal for everyone.

    Jobs that you will do: Typical jobs include but are not limited to: weeding, planting, watering, harvesting, processing (canning, drying etc), fence building, prepping new garden areas, firewood cutting/stacking, in-house food prep/clean up, cleaning house (limited to shared areas), helping with kids-if this interests you, and help on various building projects (greenhouse, fences, shed, tree house) Things you can expect to learn:-gardening, building, baking, kombucha making, food-preserving, (mostly in end of summer). Also happy to teach photography & history!

    Please bring work clothes, work boots or hiking boots, sun-protective wear, rain gear. We will provide your accommodation needs such as bedding, food, bikes & good times. Your own vehicle or bike is a huge plus!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our piece of land is 5 minutes from downtown Nelson, or a 20 minute walk. You get the best of both worlds here...rural mountain homestead living - but you can easily pop into town for a live show, a coffee or go to the pub. We have built up our property over the years on a shoe-string budget, so happy to share how we've developed our construction and gardening skills over the years. Also always happy to share history & photography knowledge around a campfire!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We've cleared some land to build a new home this year. So while we have that on the go...we're also maintaining and building new huglekulture beds and growing fresh veggies for us all to eat this summer. We will also be keeping weeds at bay in our 1 year old asparagus bed and maintaining the 1 acre of perennial flower gardens and harvesting the fruit trees.

    Building projects include: finishing up cabin and outdoor kitchen area, deer fence, greenhouse, and other small garden infrastructure and maybe even a new house.

    We have 4 forested acres and would love help establishing more trails and always clearing deadfall.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodations vary depending on the time of year. We have a queen bed in a spare room in our house - but we also have two vacation rental suites that are available at certain times of the year. We are currently hoping to get our caretaker "glamping" cabin finished for this season which will have a sleeping loft, composting toilet and outdoor kitchen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off you're super close to coffee shops, restaurants & shops. We have lots of mountain biking and hiking within 20 minutes and tons more if you venture out further. And there are many sandy beaches within a 10 min drive to choose from for lazy afternoons.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 978559722378