Help on little family farm on the outskirts of Ghent, Belgium

Country

Belgique

Enregistré comme favori 196 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.07.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    535

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 28 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Apparently there was a problem with our email and messages were not forwarding to us from the website.

    We are looking for reliable, trustworthy volunteers in 2022. Jovita's involvement in the non-profit that she founded in December 2018 means she has limited time to do regular housework and maintenance on the farm. We have several tasks that will be assigned to workawayers including caring for our animals and preparing the garden for spring planting, as well as checking fences and doing general cleanup, including trimming branches and reducing them to mulch.

    We live on a sweet little farm just outside Ghent with our almost 9-year-old son, 3 miniature sheep, a goat, 3 cats and and a very enthusiastic dog. Our family is trilingual and we regularly speak English, German and Nederlands (Flemish). We homeschool our son, so are looking for workaways who will contribute to his learning as well as help with housework and farm tasks.

    We could really use some help maintaining and making improvements to the farm. Every year we plan to start a large vegetable garden this year but Jovita's volunteer work always ramps up in the spring and doesn't leave much time over. We prefer to use traditional and eco-friendly methods.

    Jovita is from the US, just north of Seattle. Axel is German and British. We have lived in Belgium for nearly 10 years and love it here. We are quite integrated, speak Nederlands and actively involved in our community.

    Axel cycles to the nearest station, takes the train and cycles again on the other end to his place of work which leaves us with the car 4 out of 5 weekdays. Jovita manages several projects including a non-profit on top of running the household and trying to keep on top of the farm. We are very active in a group of local and international familes and are currently creating a website to spread the word about our activities.

    Jovita loves crafting .. just about anything. She knits, crochets, paints, sews, teaches patchwork and quilting. Cooking, baking, reading and gardening rank up there too.

    Axel spent many years as a professional back-roads tour guide for small groups up to 11 passengers. He enjoys exploring new places and spending time with our son.

    Finn will turn 9 soon. He's a fun kid who loves a good laugh. It's almost hard for us to describe him right now because he just keeps growing and learning. Finn is homeschooled and enjoys reading books, buying, planting and picking flowers and working in the garden with us.

    The help we need is very varied from gardening, cooking, ironing, cleaning, helping to organize, building and all-round maintenance. You will primarily be working with Jovita but we also ask that you help Axel on Saturdays, this will mean that you will likely have Monday or Thursday free during the week plus Sunday. We can also be flexible and make some compromises depending on the weather - obviously sunny days are better for working outside, but they make great days to go exploring too! We will arrange our projects on a case by case basis as we meet you and match your skills to things that need doing.

    Send us the dates of your travel and let's book your stay with us!

    Please note, due to allergies we are not able to entertain smokers.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are an easy going family that love to spend time on our farm, in the garden and exploring Ghent. We would like to welcome you into our family and encourage you to join the many family-friendly activities that we offer on the farm. You will have an opportunity to meet our friends which include very international families who visit our farm regularly to play, relax and enjoy meals together.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In the winter months, we primarily need help with childcare, household tasks and charity work (including website building). In the spring / summer, we especially need help in the very large garden - mowing, cutting branches and bushes, weeding, watering and later harvesting - we hope to someday grow enough produce to be able to our family year-round. We also need to build a 'prettier' fence for our goats, paint the chicken house and build two greenhouses from repurposed materials. Enthusiasm is more important than skills but gardening, building and woodworking experience is a plus.

    We ask 25 hours of help per week including:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ preparing meals (either together or alone)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️house cleaning (vacuuming & mopping floors, tidying the kitchen, etc)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ feeding animals and walking the dog

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private bedroom (queen-size bed) with shared bathroom. We do have a cot that can be added to the room if you'd rather not share the bed.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are just on the edge of Ghent .. you can easily cycle (we have a bike for you to use) into town or walk 10-15 minutes and jump on the tram. Ghent is a beautiful and lively city full of families and students .. there are plenty of museums, restaurants, clubs, bars, parks and bicycle routes to enjoy. From our farmhouse you cannot see any of our neighbours. It is very quiet and yet so close to the city.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    average 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Occasional a longer day will be expected but then you can also take a longer day to explore the surroundings.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















N° de référence hôte : 962458472792