Join us in the mountains and experience rural Gonçalo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 138 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    04.10.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    - Who we are -

    Hi! We are Alexia (30) and Luca (41), a French/Italian couple, creating a new life in rural Portugal; we are a stone throw from the Serra de Estrela mountains, surrounded by forests of oak, pine and chestnut trees.

    A year and a half ago, we settled in our Quinta (Projeto A Raiz), and now feel ready to start welcoming like-minded people!

    I am working remotely as a freelance writer, and Luca is the handyman, working on the land most of his time.

    After living in Paris, London, Bali, and extensively travelling all around Europe and Asia, we decided that living in the countryside was what we had to do.

    We are drawn to nature, striving to focus on what we truly want from life rather than working for someone else, to learn how to be self-reliant while focusing on creative projects that feed our souls.

    We have plenty of interests and passions, but lately, I am diving deeper into permaculture, growing our own food, foraging, astrology, ceramics, artsy practices, and qigong. Luca loves DIY, music and his records, is a great photographer, cook and Kombucha brewer, and who knows what will be next!

    We live with two dogs, Soul and Serra, and the sweetest kitten (but a pirate at heart), Sky, amazing animals to have around, including a few chickens.

    You can check our project on Insta- ask us for the link


    - What we are looking for -

    We look for someone independent and mature. We are working a lot, so do not always have time to hang out, but we will consciously allow time for this, organising meals together, little excursions or walks or meals at friends.

    Expect a remote rural area. Gonçalo is only a few km down our mountain, and the next city, Guarda, is 25 min drive.
    If you are into gardening, mindfulness practices, sunrise yoga, walks, nature, reading..well this is the right place.
    The main skills we are looking for, is willingness to learn, no fear to get your hands dirty (for very dirty job we'll use gloves do not worry!)

    Having your own transport is best, but not essential. We often meet friends who also host volunteers, so there will be occasions to socialise. We regularly go to Guarda, often stop for a coffee or a beer, so you can join the ride : )

    We are looking for someone clean, honest, hardworking, genuinely interested in helping.

    We are the type of people who can truly go the extra mile for the right person, but we won't tolerate those who take the piss and who are only looking for a free holiday. Those who have experience with workaway will surely understand! :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Whether you're interested in making your own soap, laundry product, experimenting with making your own fertilizer for the garden, or if you're into building, DIY, reparing, we have plenty of work in store. We will try to match your interests as much as possible.

    There is space for being creative and taking initiatives! We have a millions things we want to do, and it's always nice to have this extra push from other people to experiment and try new things.

    Expect anything related to sustainable living, gardening and plants, foraging, building, DIY, photography, cooking veggie food..... The list is long!

  • Aide

    Aide

    5 hours - 5 days a week (food + accommodation in exchange)


    Land (according to experience)
    - strimming
    - clearing the land
    - gathering wood for the winter
    - cutting trees
    - landscaping... meaning planting hedges, shrubs, extra trees, etc

    Routine
    - watering young trees and veggie garden

    Garden
    - weeding
    - extending the garden: creating new raised beds, planting new things
    - experimenting!

    Building
    - passive solar shower, vermicompost toilets, outdoor kitchenette
    - greenhouse
    - platforms to practice yoga
    - and more!

    Cooking
    - for those into vegetarian cooking, you could take on cooking lunch for the rest of us!

    ...and more!


    Note:
    -> tasks depend on seasons, of course!
    -> Regarding hours and days, we are flexible, which means that if you prefer to work in the afternoon rather than in the morning, it's possible. It might be possible for you to choose your days off, or even combining hours to have extra days off.... We can chat about this :)
    -> Out of working times, you'll obviously be able to do whatever you like :)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Portugais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We would be delighted to speak more Portuguese! In exchange, we can also speak italian, french and english :)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    - Our set up -

    We have been volunteering all around the world, so we truly understand the importance of providing a space that is clean and comfortable for you to enjoy your stay. And that is what we'll do.

    We are at an early stage of our project, but we can guarantee the following :

    - beautiful and remote spots with breathtaking views where to pitch your tent (we can provide tents, beddings, mattresses)
    - OR a caravane with fridge and real bed (depending on availability) and outdoor kitchenette
    - a standard bathroom that we all share (hot water)

    PS: Still in the making
    - private compost toilet and solar passive shower.
    - an outdoor kitchenette area with a stove and fridge

    - Meals -

    From Spring, when temperatures will allow, we'll provide you with all ingredients for you to cook your meals, from breakfast to dinner, and you can use our second, outdoor kitchenette. Depending on days, we also eat together for lunch and/or dinner!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Surroundings

    Lots of trails and river beaches
    Nearest river beach: 13 min drive
    Manteigas and lots of sightseeing possibilities: 30 min by car
    Guarda: 20 min by car
    Belmonte: 20 min by car
    Village with a few cafes and small supermarkets 10 min drive

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I work remotely as a freelance writer, and so, I'm always happy to have other creatives around : )

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Yes, we can have campervans and motorhomes on our land.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    It depends on the pet! We can chat about it!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 957562533293