Small Blueberry farm & family home in the Comox Valley on Vancouver Island

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 190 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    We have a small blueberry farm in the Comox Valley. We planted our berries in the spring of 2015 and had our first small crop in 2018. We have 60 hens, give or take, and usually have chicks on the go as well. We have fruit trees and a large hugelkulture garden we are working to improve.

    We are looking for a one or two people who are willing to help with the farm chores and some meal prep. that we can't keep up with as we have a wonderfully busy life. We don't often ask for help with childcare (depends on workawayers preference) but it is essential that you enjoy being around kids or you won't enjoy your stay here :) And we definitely need help from time to time with the kids while we are there - playing with kids while I cook etc.

    The help we require right now is a mix of everything from winterizing, putting up fencing, tending chickens, helping with little projects in the house to more monotonous/hard work tasks like weeding and wheelbarrowing. Sometimes we will be working with you, other times you will be working on your own.

    We are about 15 minutes drive from town so having a car or bike are essential. We are located about 15 minutes by car from Courtenay, a city of 30,000 people. A personal vehicle is suggested if you want to explore Vancouver Island. If you don't bring a vehicle, there are limited bus systems from the highway to get you around and we have bikes for your use. We can not lend out our vehicles to farm helpers.

    Ideally, we would love someone to be here for 1 -2 weeks but if it is a good fit we are flexible with that.
    We eat a wide variety of foods with no diet restrictions. We prefer farm helpers that have a similar diet. Someone who is willing to help with cooking would be ideal and we will supply the ingredients. Sharing of cooking and clean up is expected here.

    We really want our helpers to enjoy their stay here and we are happy to suggest places to go and see. We have 25 hours of work per week per person and the helpers who are best suited to our home are those that also chip in when they see that it is needed - helping with meals etc..

    There is a 13 year old, a 6 year old and a 4 year old in the house so things are sometimes a little messy and loud but evenings are quiet and there is plenty of space for you to have your privacy.

    We live in a beautiful part of Canada. Mountains, ocean and farmland all around us. Courtenay and Comox are 15 minutes down the road. The ocean is a 5 minute drive or 40 minute walk away and Mt. Washington (skiing and hiking) is only 25 minutes from the house.

    We live in the countryside 10 minutes North of Courtenay but have the great fortune of living on a loop road with 5 acre properties so there is a wonderful community of people. Many people walk "the loop" which is 2.5km throughout the day and stop and chat along the way. We also have access to the private land behind us which you are welcome to walk or cycle on. There are trails leading to a number of beaches.

    Thank you for your interest in our farm. We hope to get the chance to meet you.

    p.s. The nature of farming is such that when we need people the most we are very busy outside and I don't always get a chance to reply to emails right away. Don't be alarmed if you don't hear from us right away. I get in touch with everyone when I can, I promise.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are happy to help travellers with their English language skills while they are here. Helpers will also learn about chicken rearing, child rearing, blueberry farming, Hugelkulture gardening and sustainable living.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We ask our helpers for 25 hours of their time per week. What works best for our farm is help weekday mornings with us and if you have more hours to work you can do them as it suits you.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a beautiful room in the family home with a new bathroom next door. There is an art room/tv room/living room for helpers to use as a semi-private space.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are about 15 minutes from the city of Courtenay/Comox. There are running trails to the beach from behind our house and Mt. Washington/Strathcona park is close by for hiking, skiing and biking.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours per person per week

Our family - September 2017
Living room/separate space for farm helpers to relax.
The room for farm helpers.
Our family - September 2015






N° de référence hôte : 943552896237