Help with building a straw bale House in the Blue Mountains in New South Wales, Australia



Enregistré comme favori 38 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    Hello, I am an easy going guy who is looking at building a house in the blue mountains.
    I enjoy rock climbing and exploring the area on my free days. Eating healthily and treating others as I would want to be treated are important to me.
    Previosly I have spent many years travelling to adventurous places and enjoy story's of peoples experiences on the road.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The house will be built in the lovely Blue Mountains. It Is a beautiful place full of amazing places to explore. I am happy to take workers on small climbing trips, and show them around the area on days off.
    In exchange for help with building the house I am offering a place to stay in the blue mountains which is in a lovely bush setting. I can introduce the workers to the benefits of building a house that won't require much heating or cooling due to its solar passive design and high insulation with straw bales.
    There will also be a period of rendering the house with lime and sand.

  • Aide


    I am finalising council approval to start the build at the moment which seems to be taking longer than expected. So I don't really have anything for anyone to do just yet. Hopefully soon...

    When I start I will be looking for any skilled and non skilled help who would like to learn how to build a straw bale house. It will be a straw bale house with a few different building methods incorporated into it. The help will be quite physical at times so people who are fit and self motivated would be ideal. There will be lots of building work to do, before we get the house up to the straw bale side of things, as the floor, walls and roof needs to be up first.

    When there are no building tasks to be done, help around the property will include tending to a small veggie garden, moving materials, gardening and moving fire wood if needed.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There is a self contained caravan on site for the helpers on the property which is in a semi bush area of Mt Victoria. I am also in the process of making a camping spot as well. There is a composting toilet and water is collected through water tanks on site.

    There are a couple of options in regard to meals which depends on how much the helpers are wanting to do each day.

    If the workers are working a 5 day week for 4-5 hours per day then lunch and dinner will be provided. It will be predominately vegetarian as that is predominantly what I eat. Helpers are welcome to add their own preferred items as well. I am also flexible if the worker wants to do the 15 hour week, but this will mean they are self sufficient with their own food.
    I am happy to discuss this further so that we can come to mutual agreement about it all as well 😊

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is lots of rock climbing and hikes to explore close by and in town there is a cute little movie theatre that has a great selection of art house and current movies.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 934921222718