Help in our farm in Kennebec County, East Vassalboro Maine, USA



Enregistré comme favori 376 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact S'inscrire

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

  • Description


    Organic Status: MOFGA Certified Berry, Mixed Vegetables, Fruit and Salad Greens since 2003

    We are a small raspberry, orchard, mixed green and vegetable farm in Kennebec County, East Vassalboro Maine. We have a 26 year old son, 22 year old daughter and 20 year old daughter. Our land backs up to the outlet stream of China Lake. We are within walking distance of store, library, church (Quaker, Methodist or Baptist), China Lake boat landing, sports fields and Grange Hall. The bicycling and fishing in the area are well known. We are 30 miles (42km) from the ocean. Our farm has been in and out of our family since 1906. Our farm house has a large kitchen living area with an available bedroom bathroom in the winter and a larger living quarters from April to October. We operate a small farmers market on Saturday at the farm and sell most berries to health food stores locally and on the coast. We also maintain a local CSA that distributes food Saturdays off the farm. Colby College, Thomas College, UMA and the Maine State Capital are 9 miles away for broader entertainment. Occasional opportunity to visit other organic farms or MOFGA workshops.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif
    Projet artistique
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have weekly opportunities to contra dance, go to college and museum events or hike. Our workaway experience includes chance to visit, help with and support local town events (dance, open mike at grange, cider pressing or tree tapping for maple syrup). Plenty of neighbor events to help with.

  • Aide


    Spring projects include tapping maple trees,seedling shed and planting, setting up hoop house, pruning berries and fruit
    Summer projects include carpentry, helping with the CSA/farm stand, painting, barn and fence work and farm support, getting in wood
    Fall projects harvest, canning, fall crop planting, bulb digging and cover crop work, getting in wood
    Winter projects include barn and house repair, food prep, and getting in wood
    Our time and needs on the farm vary . We are mindful of the Workaway folks wanting to get out an see a bit of Maine and the area. We do all we can to make sure that happens. You will be included in all community events, dances and volunteer events as much or little as you would choose.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Street Spanish and French

  • Hébergement


    Shared / single room shared bath in 1906 Maine Farm House
    Shared / single room shared bath in a traditional Maine Camp
    Shared room in near by farm house

    Normal house hold chores and clean up expected. If you like to cook we'd love to have you share your skills

    Bicycle , Canoe , Ice skated, toboggan and Kayaks available for use

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    Your willingness to be flexible, and joyful attitude are most welcome. On many weekends contra dancing is available or grange activities.

    Walks, hikes, biking and kayaking are available out the door.

    About 60% of our food is produced on farm or bartered near by

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25hours a week max

N° de référence hôte : 932924128316