Besoin d'un coup de pouce dans une vieille maison au bord du canal dans le centre d'Amsterdam, Pays-Bas

  • Enregistré comme favori 1087 fois
  • Activité récente: 16 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Dear all,
    We have decided to update our profile after a fantastic first year in this wonderful historic house in beautiful Devon. Thanks to many generous and skilled Workaway’s like yourselves, our normal family are managing this important listed monument without any public help. Of course, it’s challenging but extremely rewarding!
    Now that we have formulated a clear plan to transform the house and extensive gardens (over 10 acres of formal gardens dating back hundreds of years with a river and mature trees and plans in motion for a wetland area and arboretum) into a Centre for the Arts, we can be more explicit about the type of help and skills we need to bring this important cultural project to fruition over the coming years.

    We are a couple in our 50’s with two young children. My partner, Gertrude, a Dutch Psychiatrist and I, Matthew a classical musician, with many past years in the London Philharmoic Orchestra and events organiser of festivals abroad.
    With our experience and with your help, we would like to manage the gardens and land, run courses in garden therapy and other well being. Have seasonal art exhibitions and installations in the gardens and land and to create an international centre for classical music festivals and opera (inspired by opera festivals I have been involved in Glyndebourne, Garsington and Prussia Cove).
    Grand ambitions indeed, but with our knowledge and experience we are convinced that over the next years, we can create something unique here in this wonderful corner of the countryside.

    So how about the tasks we need help with from you passionate and skilled guests !
    - General help in the garden (if possible with plant and tree knowledge and design).
    - Stone walling and historic masonry.
    - Help with carpentry outside and in (parts of the house and woodwork date back to the 13th century).
    - Interior painting and sanding. Designing and furnishing period rooms
    - Creating unique spaces in the garden and outbuildings and exploring ideas around art projects.
    - General architecture (including landscape).
    - Help with irrigation and water management for rerouting the river onto an historic flood plane. Including help in administrating this project with the local community.
    - Lighting of the outside spaces and gardens and woodland paths.
    - Outside sound installations for music and arts
    - Last, but not least, help with fundraising!

    Etc....etc...etc

    At the moment we are just a family with an enormous project. We are not a company and we are not open to the public. For this reason we are offering minimum wage, board and food in the house. We would certainly consider longer stays and potentially more interesting employment possibilities in the future when we do open to the general public. However, at the moment we are very much enjoying the cultural exchange the ethos that Workaway has to offer. Guests from all over UK and abroad coming to together to participate and exchange ideas, language and friendship in a peaceful and welcoming home.
    We have had a brilliant year with you so far!

    Please be clear in your responses about the help you can offer and the time you can stay (we prefer longer stays) and we will endeavour to promptly answer all your messages.

    With many thanks for your time,
    Matthew, Gertrude, Christopher and Anna

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Get to know a lovely part of the countryside and be close to the coast.
    Also live with an anglo dutch/English family and share in language exchange

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the UK minimum hourly wage for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided inline with UK guidance. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There is such a variety of help we need at this magnificent venue! Are you a horticulturist who can really make a stamp on the ancient tudor and victorian gardens ? Or a general builder to carefully renovate this historic landmark? A marketing expert or photographer to record and publicise the journey? Are you interested in marketing this wonderful house and gardens or do you have creative flare to help design new living spaces, such as a cafe and shop ?

    We need help with reforming the beautiful old Jacobean and Victorian gardens (much of it dates back to the 16th century). There is a large garden, well known in the area for its setting and beauty. We also need building help with the main house and various outbuildings. The main Tudor house and gardens have been closed for many years and we plan to open in again to the wider community. The site has listed status and is an important monument in the Devon area.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Rooms in the main house or camping on the land

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Only a few minutes by car to the coast and nearby towns. We have two cars, so you will have access to a vehicle.
    There is also a local bus service and Honiton train station is nearby.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We very much welcome camper vans and motor homes. We have some peaceful and beautiful landscapes

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    yes, depending on the pet !

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 917986184d72

Feedback (16)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)






















Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre jardin associatif unique dans la campagne du Wiltshire, Angleterre
Immerse yourself in biodiversity and permaculture at non-profit food forest garden near Chichester, UK