Experience living off the grid in SW Colorado, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 379 fois
  • Activité récente: 13 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois



  • Description


    We live on an 83 acre off grid ranch in a beautiful valley looking out at the la Plata mountains of SW Colorado.

    We have hosted a few Permaculture convergences, Earth skills workshops, and earth perspective teachings. We have a growing spaces dome all year garden, a hoop house, raised beds, and some eco friendly farming happening, as well as dairy goats and laying hens. We have horse drawn wagons as well.
    Our animals include 5 horses, chickens, 2 goats , cats and dogs. I make goat cheese when milk is available. There are 3 yurts on the property, a main residence, a two room bunkhouse and a barn.

    Our immediate need is help with winter caretaking of our animals, caring for the greenhouse dome, ranch maintenance and possibly some time with my 99 yr old mom. She has many stories to share and loves to sketch.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn to care for the animals - horses, goats, chickens, and livestock guardian dogs on a eco friendly farm. Learn from the elderly about her New England history and culture while looking out the the La Plata mts of SW Colorado. You will have the opportunity to participate in traditional ceremonies and a weekly drumming circle.

  • Aide


    Just the ability and desire to help on any of the projects above with minimal direction from Gary or myself.
    No smoking on the ranch.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I taught French and Spanish for many years. I enjoy speaking them when the opportunity arises.

  • Hébergement


    Woodstove or propane heater in Bunkhouse or Yurt.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 30 minutes from Mesa Verde National Park and the same distance to Durango. Canyon of the Ancients is an hour drive. We are 45 minutes from New Mexico and 4 hrs from Taos and Santa Fe and 21/2 hours to Moab , Utah.

    No smoking on the ranch.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We are off grid but have plenty of space to park a motor home which has its own power. Water is easily attainable.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 911194866783

Feedback (4)



Non-profit sustainability and homestead projects at our chestnut and blueberry farm in Loudonville, USA
We are looking for someone to help with our horses and daily activities on a hobby farm in Minnesota, USA