Help in sorting house, books and papers for writer. Beara Peninsula, Ireland

  • Enregistré comme favori 22 fois
  • Activité récente: 9 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    April 17th Update.
    I have no need at the moment for a worker.
    Possibly from late in July.

    I am a single, senior activist/gardener/writer/singer with five beautiful acres of wilderness by the sea on the breath-taking Beara Peninsula in West Cork on the Wild Atlantic Way.
    I have one son and I’m blessed that he lives here on Bears with his German wife.
    Accommodation, for one person, is in my cottage in Castletown Berehaven (6 kms from my small-holding).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You would be spending time on one of the loveliest parts of the Wild Atlantic Way, The Beara Peninsula, West Cork. No photography can do it justice but maybe have a look at this short video:
    Apart from being a writer, I have extensive knowledge and experience of environmental activism. I enjoy passing on the lessons and skills I have learned to those open and eager for that kind of knowledge. But my ears and eyes are also wide open to the lives and interests of my WorkAwayers.
    My other great life-time interest is history, and again, I like passing on my specialist knowledge e.g the Romans in Ireland (they were not supposed to be here!); first Irish contacts with Christianity (much, much earlier than St Patrick/Succat); The Norman Invasion (not really an invasion at all!) ;the Great Irish Famine (I did a very controversial thesis on the subject): I'm also regarded as a bit of an expert on the subject of Sheela na Gigs (Google it, if you wish); the invasions of the Spanish (16th C) and French (1796) in this area and the ever-present activity of smuggling are other subjects that I know quite a bit about and that can enliven guests' experience of a stay at my place. And more ...

    In consequence, I guess I'm a good guide to our Irish story, our shores and hinterland.
    Films - good films - are also a passion with me and I have quite a selection of DVDs; the Irish-interest ones are often the most popular with visitors: Michael Collins, The Wind that Shakes the Barley, Ryan's Daughter and so on ...

    I love getting to our local music festivals (mostly a summer thing) and music-session pubs (all the year round) and exposing my guests to that great Irish cultural experience, 'the Craic'. I contribute, hopefully, to the Craic myself with songs, sometimes in Irish ('sean-nós'), but also I like sea shanties and 'aislings'. One of my favourite - and unique songs - is one I've deeply researched which has roots in the medieval troubadour tradition; it is a dark, deeply romantic story where true love transcends even death itself.

    Lest it appear that you should have a good knowledge of English to get the most out of a visit here, don't worry; my favourite WA last year was a Russian grandmother who had only the most basic English. We had so much fun - she was a singer too. Coming from deep within Siberia - 1,000 kms east of Moscow - she was completely bowled over by our limitless seascapes.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As I said above, household and secretarial.
    I take my Host responsibilities seriously and give my volunteers a really good experience of where I live. I know our history, archaeology and culture well.
    My smallholding is right by the sea. I have a boat, wetsuits and snorkelling gear and a SUP board. I also have an archery range and several types of bow and enjoy passing on my skills.
    For years I farmed organically and ran a lively activist website and had dozens of volunteers. All guest helpers have remained friends to this day. I dropped out of Workaway over the last few years. My positive reviews seem to have been dropped. ? There is just one negative one - that doesn’t apply to me ? I can talk the talk big-time on environmental issues and indeed lots of other subjects. I’m told I can sing too.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    When I have just one guest WA, he/she would usually stay in my cottage. It’s my library/study but the guest would have a comfortable camp bed there - and lots to read!
    Ther is also a caravan on the small-holding, 6 kms away for people with pets.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have a YouTube Channel;. ask me for the link

    This link conveys some of attractions of this peninsula;

    The Peninsula is steeped in myths and legends. The mountains and valleys are rich in archaeological sites such as stone circles, wedge graves and other relics from the past. There are scenic lakes cradled by gorgeous mountains and a rugged coastline with lots of great fishing spots. Linking all this together is the Beara Way walking trail, also a cycling route and the Ring of Beara. There are three islands you can visit, Dursey, Garnish and Bere Island and, when my big sailing boat is launched in 2018, The Skelligs, The Blaskets, or over the horizon ...
    Local transport is almost non-existent, but I am happy to drive and guide my helpers and get them to cultural events, when the help commitment is over, of course.
    I also have bikes, one of them electric and I have a Zodiac inflatable for fishing and excursions.
    We are not at the centre of the cultural universe here but we manage to get to a fair share of music pubs, plays, pantos, poetry readings etc

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size on site by the sea.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Five hours a day for 5 days = 25 hours for a week. In summer could do 3 x 8 hour days

N° de référence hôte : 897696459131

Feedback


Be part of our family and help us out around the house and with the kids in Wicklow, Ireland
Help with childminding, and daily family life in the lively town of Ennistymon, Clare, Ireland