Help with child minding and English practice with our small family in Oslo, Norway

Country

Norvège

Enregistré comme favori 126 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.08.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three living in Oslo, Norway. I’m Norwegian and my husband is American. Our son, Luca, is 4 years old. My husband is a conductor and works mostly around the world (some in Norway) and I’m a violinist now based back in Oslo. I used to be concertmaster of The Norwegian Opera (among other places like Switzerland), but now most of my work is based in Oslo and Norway (since having a child).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You would be able to live in one of the most beautiful parts of Oslo, submerged sun nature, and fifteen minutes from downtown, in a peaceful and very “Norwegian” environment. We have a beautiful big, new house, with enough space for everyone.
    Luca is bilingual and speaks both Norwegian and English. You would be able to learn Norwegian by living in Norway, speaking in norwgian with me, take some classes, if you wish, and Luca could keep his English with you.:) We can show you around the city and even country, and of course bring you into our network of good friends and family here. Luca is a very social, happy, calm and funny child and loves meeting new people. You would also be able to experience a lot of classical music through our work, and maybe be part of a world you haven’t been involved before, if you wish.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As my husband is away most of the time, I juggle being a “single” parent with working full time. With a lot of help from some very good friends and my parents it was doable when Luca wa as baby, but as of February 2021, we’ve had someone living with us helping out. We had a French girl (25 yo) for the first six months, and then a American/Norwgian girl who’s been with us for 8 months now. She is planning to stay with us until Aug/September and from then on I’m looking for someone new to join the family.:)

    Mostly it’s help with being with Luca when I have to work. As I’m a musician, the schedule is very different then a “normal” job schedule. Most of it is planned very far ahead of time, so it’s both varied and predictable. Both my husband’s and my own work schedules are different then the normal “9-17”, but our lives are planned very far into the future.
    This would include bringing him back and forth to school sometimes, being with him at certain hours where I’m at work in the evenings/weekends, and sometimes even travel with us. I travel to Trondheim for work every now and then for a few days, and I usually bring him and the aupair with me. If it’s a shorter stay, only a day or two, I can also travel alone and leave him at home with you and my parents )whom he loves and adores). If you’re comfortable once you get to know each other. As a family we also travel around the world for work (Netherlands, Germany, Spain, USA and more). Sometimes we need help on the trips, sometimes not, meaning with a little Josie work, you’ll have the house to yourself.

    Speaking fluent English is very important to us, as this is how Luca keeps his English fluent, seeing that James is gone most of the time.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We recently moved into a brand new house that we bought in Trosterudveien in Oslo West (near Gråkammen/Ris/Slemdal). It’s a big house located right on the edge of the famous “marka”, which is the national parc here in Oslo. We literally have the forest in our backyard, with endless hiking and hiking possibilities straight out from the backyard.

    The house has three bedrooms on the top floor, a big open middle floor with kitchen, living room, dining area and fireplace area, and a ground floor with a studio section. Bedroom, bathroom, a small kitchen and sitting area. A mini apartment.:)

    We have a car, and bike.
    The subway is a 13 min walk from the house and in 10 minutes you’re downtown Oslo.
    We are lucky to have lovely neighbors and a peaceful neighborhood. Luca’s kindergarten is about five min drive from the house, or a 20 min walk.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    To us, the most important in life is the present. And although our work is planned in detail far in advance, the most important is always to feel good with what you have and have a relaxed atmosphere. Especially around a smaller child. Being with us, you would know when we need your help, and also all your free time could be planned at the same time. Norway is a country of beauty and opportunities, so we would welcome you with open arms and would love to help you plan other things to do as well during your stay.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 894331758348