Come and join me in this magical valley, Sao Pedro Do Sul, North Portugal

  • Enregistré comme favori 78 fois
  • Activité récente: 28 févr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hey folks, I have a solid little stone house nestled in a magical valley in North Portugal. The land is densely forested with lots of native trees including heaps of big oaks, sweet chestnuts and medronhos (strawberry fruit tree). Below is a powerful stream with a series of pools and waterfalls, it's extremely green and lush. I'm currently setting myself up for off-grid living with solar, compost toilets, spring-water taps, wood burning stove. In the future I would like to plant a sub-tropical food forest, so for now I am weeding out invasive species and bio-engineering sections of the land which are very steep with grasses and bamboo, more specifically an Indian grass called Vetiver. Next step will be to repopulate these areas with native shrubs and trees and help rehabilitate the forest. So if any of those projects interests you. Sometimes I see the land as a huge, living, evolving art piece, since I am carving and shaping it, and layering more life/shades/colours, want to co-create a live art piece?

    I have two neighbours in the Valley, my friend Andrew who is also on Work Away (maybe I can add a link here?), and a small family of 3 including a beautiful baby girl. Me and Andrew have a similar vision for the land and are keen to host yoga/meditation retreats, vision quests, men's and women's circles and maybe small festivals in the future. Mario, Yana and Jaia are literally the heart of the Valley in my eyes they radiate love, and they're almost completely self-sufficient. Their home and land, and what they have created is so idillic. Both my neighbours have dogs which are super friendly. Future joint community projects include a bicycle powered washing machine and hydro-power for Winter.

    A bit about me, I'm in my early 40's, single, semi-retired, born in England but well traveled and lived the last 5 years in Australia. I would describe myself as really easy going and pretty laid-back, but with attention to detail, bit of a perfectionist (for better or worse). I like to practice yoga/meditation, and generally focus a lot on health. I'm currently eating a more animal based diet (locally sourced/grass fed/nose to tail) for protein/collagen and optimal nutrition whilst rehabilitating my knees which have started to show signs of age/wear and tear. I know this is a controversial subject with the rise and popularity of veganism, I've been there done that, I was vege/vegan for 10 years so I've got good reasons why I made the switch back. I also eat a lot of fruit, LOVE fruit, definitely one of my most pleasurable past times. Dancing is also a passion of mine and I love letting loose at Festivals or Conscious Dance events (ecstatic / 5 rhythms etc.). Other than that I keep pretty busy working on the land and just love being so nature immersed here.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    *3/4 yrs off-grid living including growing food / irrigation systems / chainsaw work / basic permaculture design
    *40+ yrs of life experience
    *Yoga/Meditation experience (10 yrs Yoga practice & 7 x 10-day Vipassana Meditation sits)
    *Local Portuguese culture

  • Aide

    Aide

    *Collecting spring water
    *Chopping fire wood
    *Weeding
    *Planting
    *Assist building projects
    *Landscaping
    *Co-pilot on City trips (maybe a spot of dumpster diving)
    *Natural building (forest means lots and lots of wood)
    *Fruit picking
    *Making preserves (jams/chutney's/pickles)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am super inspired and motivated to learn to speak Portuguese fluently, I want to get to know the local people on a deeper level.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own Bedroom in Stone House with huge comfy mattress and organic cotton bedding OR large 6m Bell Tent in the forest also with huge comfy mattress (there is space in the lay-by for Campervans).

    I will cook more of the same as what I eat to share with any volunteers (although my diet is pretty bizarre to some), or if they have different/more specific dietary requirements I can buy different foods or give volunteers an allowance to buy themselves. Then they can cook and eat when they desire. I'm pretty flexible.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are lots of walking trails, wild swimming options, local gatherings/parties, flea/farmers markets and festivals, both on the land and in the local area. I drive to town a few times a week and there are bus stops nearby but I've never taken the local bus.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I now have a Wifi router.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is a quiet / shady / relatively private lay-by at the top of my track with lots of space.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hrs per day

N° de référence hôte : 889243249744

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help around the house and garden middle of Portugal, North of Lisbon
Help with childcare and around the house in Calheta, Portugal