Join us in our intentional community in Portland Oregon, USA. no smokers please

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 271 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.11.2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an intentional community in Portland Oregon. We have chickens, a cob oven (in progress), a garden, craft areas, lots of games, and a cat. Housemates enjoy playing music together, hiking, mushroom hunting, community activism, and other similar things. We are mostly vegetarian. We have a focus on being a safer space for LGBTQ folks. We are on buslines and short distance from community center, grocery, parks, and a 20 minute bike ride to downtown Portland. We are a non-smoking household. We can't host additional animals.

    We are most excited about folks that are international travellers and who have references. We can offer around a one month stay if everything goes well in the first few days. Because it's important to us to have a good community feel and a safer space for housemates (LGBTQ, POC, and allies) we reserve the right to ask you to leave quickly if you aren't a good fit. (That said this has only happened once, most of you are able to self-select/ are pretty decent human beings!)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our culture has some strong Portland aspects- we are LGBTQ and allies, we like fermenting things, and we spend a lot of time outdoors and foraging recreationally. We also have our own things too that are a little different from typical Portland: not all housemates are American, we are pretty science oriented, and we don't drink a ton of beer. We love having guests, especially international ones. Depending on the season and how much time we have, we may take you mushroom hunting, kayaking, to interesting events, or gatherings with other co-ops. We are often doing things like brewing fruit wine, making sauerkraut, playing music, or having board game nights. You would be included in all of these things if you wish.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We always have projects that need help! We'll be focusing on getting the house painted and finishing the cob oven in the next few months. Here's a selection of other things: Work on the gazebo, gardening, chicken care and coop cleaning, making food, painting, house bicycle maintenance, creating a mural, cleaning tasks, making a neighborhood gathering / bbq happen, helping with one of our non-profits or another greater community need, or helping to organize something like our craft shelves. For longer stays, we can include volunteering at a local non-profit as part of the task list each week.

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    Portuguese: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will probably have your own room and bed. If you're staying in our guest room, it has some house storage and our printer as well as a super comfy queen size guest bed, which means that we might need to access the room occasionally but only when you're awake and it's not an inconvenience for you. If it's a basement room, it will be completely private but the bed might not be very comfortable (single boxsprings) and cement floors (rugs provided). If all the rooms are full, we have tents or a semi-private basement futon for overflow. (Friends and family get first pick, then workaway, then couchsurfers.) Food at a minimum will be help yourself to our fridge and pantry. Typically we cook dinner together most nights and breakfast on weekends. You'd be part of the cook rotation. Shared food is vegetarian. It's ok if you eat meat in the house but it will not be provided as part of the food offered and we have a seperate fridge for personal food/meat and restrictions on cooking it.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We're on several major bus lines so it's relatively easy to get around the city. Portland is also great for bicyclists and we might have a loaner bike for you. There are many beautiful things to see in the area if you like to be outside. We're not far from Mt Hood and the Cascade Mountains (Skiing, hiking, mushroom hunting, backpacking), the gorge (wineries, hiking, windsurfing, mushroom hunting) the coast (beach, tourist towns, mushroom hunting), and the coast range (hiking, camping, mushroom hunting). (We might be just a bit into mushroom hunting- Oregon is one of the best places in the world for this.) Portland is known for excellent beer, music, foodie culture, LGBTQ culture, and urban planning.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have decent wifi and there are nice work spaces outside (gazebo), in guest rooms (large, desk space), or in common areas. (We like working together in same space.)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









N° de référence hôte : 879836935527