mis à jour  

Join our family at our 40 acre off-grid homestead in Homer, Alaska, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 66 fois
  • Activité récente: 28.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We run an OFF-GRID homestead in Homer, Alaska (private homestead, not a business). We have a garden, dairy cows, chickens, ducks, meat birds and bees! We have a 4 year old and 20 month twins. My husband works building houses all summer so I (Amanda) am running everything mostly on my own. Help would be greatly appreciated!!

    This is a great opportunity for someone who wants to come to Alaska and site see! Only a few hours a day of work and close to town, restaurants, site seeing, fishing, hiking, biking, and much more.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will gain experience in dairy farming, raising animals, gardening, living off grid (Solar power and generator only), learn about Alaska and site see as well as see. I also make lots of cheese if you are interested in learning :)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Main responsibilities would be a few hours a day gardening, feeding animals and milking two cows twice a day. Restocking animal food, filling water barrels etc., are all included in animal responsibilities. Moving cows, cleaning animal pens, shoveling compost etc. Being available morning and night for the milking schedule during your five days on is important to us. We are flexible And would work with you and your needs as well

    If you have experience milking cows or goats we are very interested to talk to you! But I am willing to teach anyone with a good attitude and patience. We have a milk machine available or you can milk by hand.

    If you are good with kids, caring for my children while I’m home from time to time.

    Prefer to have a woman volunteer or couple.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own insulated dry cabin (no running water), and access to our shower. As we do live off grid, we try to be conservative with our water and power usage. You will be free to eat whatever comes from our farm (eggs, dairy, meat, veggies, honey, salmon) and will be provided a camp stove for cooking on your own. I can't guarantee 3 cooked meals a day but most likely dinner on most days. We are only 10 miles from town and most locals hitch hike from where we live so getting to town shouldn't be a problem! You will be responsible for any snack foods you would like.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Only requiring 4-6 hours of work a day, you will have a lot of free time to site see in Homer, fish, hike, take trips across Kachemak Bay etc. Halibut cove is a short boat ride and a main tourist attraction. There is a lot of local spots to fish for salmon or fly fish. If you are interested in deep sea fishing, there are many options to pay to have someone take you out. There is also bear watching, kayaking and many gift shops and art shops in town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have lots of room for parking a trailer or van

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 863672849697

Feedback (2)


Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Visitez la plus cool des villes américaines et filez un coup de main dans notre musée à but non lucratif, Detroit, USA
Help with daily life in a large beautiful house with tropical feel in Central Valley, California, USA