Share the magic of our mountain top and engage with the hip community of Vermont, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 79 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a dad & daughter (14) with a loving, crazy Airedale Terrier (that enjoys guests), living on a 50 acre mountain top with distant 360 degree views of both the Green & White Mountains. From sunrise to sunset we are enjoying ourselves and loving the land, with tons of hiking/biking trails, and a nearby connection to a 25 mile network. There's generally a refreshing breeze here, but when it gets too warm we head down to our stream & spring fed pond, which is a piece of heaven -- deep and cool. Our whole mountain is magical, with strong meridians, and located in a very artsy & progressive part of southern Vermont.

    And yes, there's a lot involved in being good land stewards (even though we are not a commercial farm), so we have many diverse projects, and you might assist in managing our generous garden, making meals, clearing brush, nurturing the flower beds, putting up firewood, doing arts & music with Luna, or building saunas and other structures, for a few hours most days. If you have a penchant for organizing, or have a talent for on-line sales, our most recent mission is getting rid of "stuff", and while not complete Luddites, we'd welcome some 21st Century assistance. My daughter & I have both been fully vaccinated, and ask that you are too. We don't wear masks up here, but we do when engaging in public, and would you to do so as well -- so that we can all stay safe, and be "normal" at home until this pandemic is resolved.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are World-Travelers (35+ countries), and free-thinking liberals that seek mutually beneficial relationships and strong communication, which is key. Life's day to day aspects seem best addressed through our perpetual efforts toward mindfulness of each action we take, and the underlying acknowledgement of the brevity of our own spiritual journey between two mysteries. Let's make the time to help each other cherish the sacred in each moment that we are given. When you're not learning something about everything here, we hope that you'll be sharing your life experiences. Intellectual dialogue and practical hands-on knowledge covering a wide swath of people, places & things can provide a constant exchange of information and ideas. If we don't know something, we know someone who does, and we are actively engaged in our community. You're going to learn a lot about a lot -- and teach us, too. We are (Covid-allowing) socially active, and welcome you to join us in our adventures. You can also just kick back around the fire pit with some music, or in a hammock with an adult bev and take in star-lit nights that may blow your mind. We enjoy having our guests become our friends.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There's lots of good healthy roll-up-your-sleeves farm-type work to be done daily, which is interspersed with a mix of less romantic rotating projects, but none too terribly arduous, and certainly not boring. We have a tractor to help with heavy work, a pick-up truck, and just about every imaginable hand and power tool you've encountered -- and then some. You'll have the opportunity to use them, or learn how. I have a PhD from the School of Hard Knocks, and am a willing teacher, so that you don't have to be a graduate, too. We'll work in tandem a good deal of the time, but there are certainly plenty of autonomous projects here that you can address on your own. We encourage self-starters and divergent points of view. At present we could use assistance gardening, cooking, moving firewood, finishing the sauna & other structures, clearing out the barn, listing on CL, painting, cutting back the pond area, designing a steam hut and a wood rack, and teaching art & music to my daughter.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Thai: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Languages are the keys to other cultures, and they bring us inside a world that we can't otherwise fully understand. Plus, they show appreciation, and an effort to reach out beyond our own threshold.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have enhanced spaces for you to create your own outdoor environment, and we also have some charming woodsy dwellings of a more traditional nature that will keep you cozy and dry. A larger abode with a separate upstairs bedroom for two, has a wood stove, sink with counters & cabinets, and a mini-kitchen, so you could stay into the fall, possibly through the winter, though the water is presently carry-in. Another is an insulated mini-cabin with a single bed, a tiny sink and a camping-type cooking set up. It also has heat which could allow a visit through November. Both have electricity and use either a port-o-potty or outhouse, and should have running water (catchment?) by the summer of 2022.

    We can share many breakfasts and dinners together to relax & converse, and you'll also get some supplies to supplement fixing your own food as well. Lunch we do on the fly. In season, the garden is generally pretty robust (as long as we keep the crop rotation going. ;) We eat TONS of greens, as I was a complete vegebatarian for 17 years (and a vegan for 1, tough! ;), and am quite handy in the kitchen, cooking to suit most of your dietary preferences -- but enjoy eating other's culinary creations. Our 5-Star International Cuisine temps diners to "seconds", and we welcome guest chefs. We're generally up and engaged from about 7:00am to 9:00pm, but try to eat breakfast by 8:30 or 9:00 and dinner around 6:00 or 6:30, keeping our afternoons free (but we're pretty flexy.) Our summer schedule runs a bit later with the longer daylight hours, and days off can rotate between weekends to mid-week, depending on Luna's school and tourist traffic. Oh, and there's usually a passable cell signal and fiber-optic WiFi access from the central buildings and some of the others, which is pretty sweet in lil' ole Vermont.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are near a lot of great spaces & places, but everything is a bit of a drive in this part of the country, which is steeped in history and natural beauty. The "Fourteenth State" has always had traditional Yankee roots while being progressive and free-thinking, and that tradition carries on today. Brattleboro is about half an hour away (and quite the hip little berg, rated "Top Ten" in several categories) as is Keene, N.H., and there's a fair amount to do in both, culturally and practically. Putney and Bellows Falls (10-15 minutes -- normally for entertainment, movies, restaurants, laundry, hardware, etc,) are also happening, but on a smaller scale. We get out to hear local music, go to Gallery Walk, hitting other fun stuff that pops up (and there's lots), and have a strong social, tribal connection with another Workaway host family of 4, nearby. Public transportation is pretty sketchy in Vermont, but we go out almost daily and you could use a vehicle (stick-shift) if you needed one to shop or whatever. We work hard, but we play hard. And we do "party", but at the right time, in the right place, believing in moderation of all things. Please write me if you have any questions or needs that might help you consider a visit to our gates. Aloha.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have fiber-optic and multiple access points, whether you are a casual or professional user.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a number of good spots that can offer views, power and water, as well as bathroom facilities.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Our dog loves pals but sometimes takes them on "adventures" (aka runs away! ;), but less so now that she is 11. If you have a pooch, they should be friendly, obedient, and garden savvy.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, or equivalent

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)






N° de référence hôte : 412967276989