Help with horses and huskies in Pino Hachado, Neuquen, Argentina

Country

Argentine

Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 1125 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    40  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent, tout de suite, mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Despite the Pandemic, we're still looking for help on our ranch.
    For this summer (Nov until April), we're looking for volunteers with some horse riding experience or atleast experience handling horses. We live off grid so may not respond to your message for a few days.

    We are not a typical workaway, we hope for our volunteers to work hard alongside us- we live in the middle of the mountains, 50km from the nearest town, without internet and we use solar panels and take water straight from a stream. You must have some experience working with animals and lots of common sense. We have 40 huskies and 10 horses, the huskies are cared for and fed everyday all year round. We have the horses around the house for just 7 months of the year (summer Nov until March). There are two guests cabins and we ask the volunteers to help clean and maintain them. The way we live is not totally conventional, thus you should come with an open mind, not restricted to the normal 'work hours' experienced in Europe/USA.

    The weather can be unpredictable, such is life in the mountains. You must speak some Spanish and English and the minimum stay is two months (we prefer 3), but the first month is a 'test/probation' and if you are happy, and we are happy, then we will extend! Please, no vegans. For us to go to the supermarket, we cover 100km for the round trip, so you must be fairly comfortable and easy going on the food front.

    The property is located in Pino Hachado in the province of Neuquén, Argentina, in the middle of the cordillera de los Andes mountains surrounded by unique Araucaria forests. It is close to the international border of Chile (3km) and 50km from the next town Las Lajas.
    I run a small tourist company here in Northern Patagonia, offering horse riding (summer) and husky sled tours (winter), as well as outdoors activities such as hiking, climbing and snow shoe walking.

    I myself am originally from Buenos Aires but have lived in this wonderful place for 17 years. I have two adult sons who are studying and working in the capital and in Roca.

    I have been welcoming volunteers for years and enjoy the exchange and their great company.

    If you are interested, please send me an email.

    Thanks

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Accueil / tourisme
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will see how to live disconnected from the materialistic world and you will learn for yourselves how to interact with dogs and work with the huskies in the winter. We use fires for heating so lots of wood cutting and safe fires to be made! The keener and the harder working volunteers get far more out of this experience than lazy people. We have no place for people sitting on the sofa playing games on the phones!!

  • Aide

    Aide

    As a volunteer you will take care of the huskies all year round and the horses during the summer. Help also includes cleaning the cabins after the guests have left and preparing them before guests arrive.

    We ask that volunteers help us out on the long rides if needed (driving license is a bonus!) and for the smaller tours closer to home.

    It is important to us that you enjoy interacting with different people and guests and that you are a motivated and enthusiatic person. I expect „workawayers“ to be highly committed, responsible, good team players as well as to be able to work independently. You should be outdoor proofed, like the wilderness and not mind getting wet and dirty. If you have special skills like building, construction,....even better. There is always firewood to be cut, gathered and stored and we light fires in the house on a daily basis for cooking, heating, and showers.
    We prefer volunteers to be older than 25 years and with previous experience volunteering.

    Experience with horses during the summer is necessary.

    Besides the help, you surely will have the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful nature, go hiking in the mountains, do horse riding, husky training or snow shoe walking in winter. You will be able to improve your Spanish and learn more about Gauchos (arg. cowboys) and mushing (sled dog racing).
    I also have table tennis, like to watch good rugby and soccer games, to share mate tea and to have delicious argentinian asados.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You live in a small, simply, rustic cabin next to the main house with its own toilet and wood stove. This is your place to sleep, relax, read etc
    The shower (warm water), kitchen are in the main house where we also cook and eat together. Also there is a dome tent in the summer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is no phone neither internet signal in my place but I check my emails 3 to 4 times a week. So I will answer your mail as soon as I can.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























N° de référence hôte : 854859733615