Help with outdoor, eco tasks in the Plovdiv region of Bulgaria.



Enregistré comme favori 84 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are a british couple who bought an off grid small holding with chickens/ducks/dogs/cats and horses. We run a track/equicentral system, trying to give our animals a species appropriate and diverse space to live in. Our day tries to work in harmony with our surroundings, not fight against nature.

    Volunteers will need to be animal lovers, happy with outdoor life & not be high energy consumers. We like to have help with land management, diy projects, animal care and for company/meal prep/brainstorming.
    Recent tasks involved creation of a new woodland grazing area, making cupboards, growing vegetables & gathering herbs for plant medicine & teas installing balcony lighting & cutting winter wood. This is fairly routine stuff around here. You do not need any special skills, only to be willing & cheery.
    We take it in turns to visit the uk for employment but there is always one or both of us home.

    Our house stands 2miles from the nearest neighbours so it really is very rural and our lifestyle is minus many modcons (but plainly we have internet connection) we have log fired central heating, solar power and bore holes to supply our water. The house is unusual in that upstairs is open plan with tree trunks supporting the roof and the lounge overlooks mountains, everything inside we have made. Most tasks are done by hand.

    Volunteers stay either in the downstairs guest room or in the converted shepherds hut (with its own bathroom) we have a large outdoor deck to relax on where food is grown, you might choose to sleep there under the stars or chill in the mini hot tub. The property sits in around 13 acres, much of it woodland with a stream running through, so there is a lot of wildlife and stunning scenery to enjoy. We are surrounded by fruit/but trees, vineyards and lavendar fields, we are in the valley of the roses too. You are welcome to go exploring on foot or bicycle. Sympathetic horse riders may be welcome to ride out.

    The keyword to our family is humour! we find the funny side in everything and wierd and wonderful things happen here every day. our life is a lot like a childs adventure novel....

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bulgaria is a second world, developing country. and we are remote within it. we rely on lateral thinking, ingenuity and resolve as there are no nearby shops with ready made solutions or modern skilled workforce. you will learn to work with your hands, spend time outdoors, work in harmony with rather than resist nature. its a place to test your strengths and be creative. my experience is with animal care, my husband is the hands on building, mechanical one-between us we have many skills to share, but also like to learn from our volunteers.
    you are welcome to join us in the local café most days to unwind or visit the cities and towns when we need to visit. you can of course, go out and about on foot, bicycles or by the local buses as well.

  • Aide


    Tasks generally associated with renovating a property and maintaining a small holding. We always have fallen wood and leaves to clear in the woods, fencing to check and maintain, dogs to groom, horses to look after, a chilcken coop to clean and we poo-pick the main field daily. There are usually several diy projects on the go, now its: installing an en-suite, making cupboards and shelves, stone cladding a wall, hay making, wildcrafting herbs, growing vegetables & some food prep.

    Plans are great but we're quite spontaneous so be prepared to be flexible and go with the flow.
    We are relaxed and friendly, you will not be asked to do something we are not prepared to do ourselves. slave labour is not what we want.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Bulgarian: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    our guest room is a comfortable size and sleeps 2, the bathroom is well fitted. hot water/cooking and heating is log fired. Sometimes we use the glamping pod, a converted shepherds hut with its own power and bathroom. we have several acres of land beside a lake, you will sleep in a comfortable bed, have toiletries and towels, meals obviously included. you will be treated as part of the family. We have limited recharging for electronic devices and do not run a television all day :), we have unlimited water but need to monitor the levels inside the indoor storage tanks so as not to run them dry. isolated location which has stunning views, a stream and woodland run through the property. very secure to due location and us having a lot of dog. It's very much an eco project so no mains electricity but peace by the bucket load. fishing lake beside the property, lots of walking opportunities in your spare time.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    we do have phone signal here and mobile internet. water is safe to drink, classified as mineral water. wild animals are around but not problematic, no vaccinations required. we have many photographs of the immediate area, it is quiet and surrounded by mountains, we are 3miles from the foothills of a mountain. this is an agricultural area with many trails and paths to follow. The spa town of hissar is 30 mins away, Plovdiv and Karlovo just under an hour. we have generators but are not the type of family who sit watching tv nightly. we tend to talk, read and spend a lot of time outside faffing around and tending to the animals demands. we grow food from time to time and use local produce getting involved with the local community as much as possible. please feel free to ask questions or for pictures to help you decide if this is the place for you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    the hours we keep vary according to the time of year, in summer never middle of the day and in winter never early or late.

Creating a coat hanger
volunteer made hay catching the horses attention as it goes into storage
getting to grips with power tools to make a 6x4metre deck
a volunteer made horse fly trap!
Picking rosehips in the valley of the roses
the kitchen project

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 832957483658