Have an adventure helping out with our ostriches and other animals near Varna, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgarie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 797 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple who left London to begin a crazy adventure building an ostrich farm in Bulgaria. 10 years on, and now with 2 kids (10 and 6 years old) we are downsizing from the commercial ostrich farm though we continue to care for our adult ostriches and a petting zoo garden with lots of animals (Emu's, Rhea's, giant rabbits, guinea pigs, various poultry and a peacock). We also have 4 dogs and 6 cats, so plenty of friendly pets to keep you company!

    We aim to live in a self-sufficient way and we are working on creating a Food Forest with fruit trees, berry bushes, herbs and forage greens. We are cultivating an organic veg garden and frequently make preserves from our produce.

    We ask a minimum of 2 weeks but we really like volunteers who can stay longer. The more time you spend with us the more effective you can be and you will learn a lot. We work a split day during the summer months with a long break through the hot hours in the middle of the day.

    We need dependable, independent and diligent people as you will be responsible for caring for our pets (who all have names!). We can guarantee you will never be bored here and if you can contribute, you will find yourself a valued member of our team. We really appreciate people who are practical and good with their hands. Also, if you enjoy cooking then we would love to have you here!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We offer volunteers the opportunity to experience life on a farm in a Bulgarian village, while being near enough to Varna to also enjoy city life on your time off.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Most of the tasks at our farm are with the animals.

    Alongside helping with the animals there are varied things to get involved with, including;

    - Planting trees, bushes and other plants to develop our new food forest

    -Setting up and improving permaculture systems; landscaping, composting and helping on the veg gardens

    - Eco-building: setting up grey water storage and irrigation system for the organic gardens

    - Building a natural outdoor kids playground with balance beams, ropes, mud kitchen, water features

    - Building a guinea pig village

    -Making preserves and pickles from farm produce

    - Re-purposing recycled materials around the farm

    - Building and maintaining animal enclosures and houses

    -Repairs and improvements to living areas

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Bulgarian: Courant
    Greek: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live on site with our friendly pets - 3 dogs and 3 cats. Our dog Oscar loves playing ball and will be your best friend the whole time you are here! Volunteer accommodation is in a caravan or hut on site. We offer hot shower, washing machine, wifi, hammocks for resting in the shade. Breakfast and lunch are DIY in the volunteers kitchen, and we share cooking for dinner.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is set on the side of a hill in a beautiful valley with open countryside for hiking (and taking the dogs for a walk). Its 10 mins walk to the village with shops, cafe, post office etc. There is a reliable bus service that takes you to Varna in 20 mins, where you can go to the beach with great beach bars, nightlife, shops, roman ruins etc.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.6)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)



































N° de référence hôte : 659196263881