mis à jour  

Help us on our lifestyle block in a beautiful rural setting on a 10 hectare site in near Dunedin, New Zealand

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Close to city, a 10 hectare block with ~5 hectares of native bush, lots of birdlife, the rest is pasture with sheep including lambs at the moment. There are magnificent views to the town and Kapukataumahaka (Mt. Cargill), the organ pipes are also close by, lots of nice walks abound. Our place is quiet, only 2 neighbors in the far distance. We have a cockdoodle dog about a year old who is very friendly when not chasing chooks or sheep.

    In terms of things to do there's plenty of gardening, a large 36 m2 plastic tunnel house for tropical style gardens and, and two other decent sized outside gardens, there's also about 10 chooks and various coops. Bottom of the block has a wild steep creek with waterfall and wee pool. Our place is fairly close to town, (~9km to CBD) which is quite bike able down hill and do able up hill. Current projects is building grey water system, for the caravan, also have firewood cutting, gorse pulling, scotch thistle control well as fixing fences and rebuilding gates etc.

    Accommodation will generally be in the 6 berth caravan on site which has a heat pump to keep it warm in winter. A hot plates, fridge in the garage, shower and stereo, Hot water (10 kiter tank only though) and external composting toilet and is relatively self contained, should have plenty of room for 2 people.

    Food wise, be prepared to cover your own breakfast and lunch food, though sometime lunch's are combined if we are home and working on stuff together. For dinner we usually do shared meals and we cover the food cost, but you are expected to cook on a rostered day on basis and help with dishes when not cooking.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Perhaps culturally interesting living on a farmlet?

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are a small lifestyle block fairly close to Dunedin.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Indonesian: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    6 berth caravan can comfortably accommodate a couple or up to 4. Outdoor composting toilet. Caravan shower wash hand basin, sink, stove small fridge.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    So we are on a rural lifestyle block with sheep and chickens and a cockadoodle. Really safe traffic wise as there is none, but if dogs would not need to eat the chickens and if cats need to not eat the birds..

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week- no food

N° de référence hôte : 818643813558

Feedback

Community life at an Anglican Monastery in the Reikorangi Valley, New Zealand
Enjoy views and a garden as you help with projects at our home in Frankton, New Zealand