Off grid living near the coast on the stunning island of Hvar, Croatia

  • Enregistré comme favori 254 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a young at heart, older couple who ran away from the rat race of London via Brighton and then Ibiza and found ourselves on a paradise island running a small hotel and rescuing animals. We love music, festivals, art, books, culture, football and the simple things in life like swimming, walking the dogs and saving animals.

    We like a challenge, love travel but don’t get much chance with all our animals so we thought we would create a wonderful environment to foster our cats and have a place that was safe and self sufficient up in the forests. We enjoy being at our land more than anything but during covid we didn’t have a wage so we couldn’t finish our house and garden and so need some help to get it on its way. It's a plot of 5,000 m2 and the main building is nearly finished on the outside but nothing on the inside. We like using recycled items as much as we can so it’s a slow process although there are always things you can do to improve it.

    We normally live at the land all Summer but this year we will stay in town with our 2 rescue dogs and 2 rescued cats and run our small hotel and so there is plenty of room at the land for a couple or friends and solo if you like solitude, to enjoy in exchange for clearing the land, some help weeding and watering our olive and fruit trees. It is basic way of living but off grid living is so beautiful with total tranquility. The tasks would be to move and chop the logs, clear undergrowth to create a fire gap, look at fencing, clear an area for a vegetable plot, water olive and fruit trees etc

    We started a cat and kitten fund 5 years ago to raise funds to neuter stray cats on the island, to feed and medicate them and try and re home them. We have been very successful in getting 100’s of cats neutered saving the lives of many unwanted kittens but there is still work to be done. However we have just driven 5 of our foster cats to the U.K. recently as we found forever homes for them and so we don’t have any cats to look after at the moment but that could change. But for now it’s just the land to concentrate on.

    So if you fancy a change of scenery and think you can give the off grid lifestyle a go get in touch. We won’t be cooking for you as you will be living up there on your own but then we would expect less work from you. You do however need transport as it is remote but there is space if you have a camper. A couple would be best unless you want total solitude. The land is approx 8 km to Stari Grad and we do have mountain bikes but you need to be fit as there is one hill…

    Thank you for reading

    Amanda and Chris x

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Well the best part is being able to relax and enjoy nature and getting to meet the locals of this fabulous island. Hvar is an amazing place to visit and stay but accommodation is expensive here so you can get to learn the ancient cultural history of Stari Grad (which is over 2400 year old) for free.

    We have now had our first Workaway’s and it’s been working really well but we have realised that you must be able to drive to take this on as it is very remote.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are a couple living on the beautiful island of Hvar in Croatia where we are building a home in the forest that will be self-sufficient and where we can look after our rescue dogs and stray cats that we foster before trying to re-home them.

    We need help with creating a garden, clearing undergrowth, weeding and creating a vegetable plot and basic maintenance.
    Any building knowledge a bonus.

    I have an ACL injury and this has meant my poor husband doing everything which has made it a tough season as we also run a small hotel.

    It would ideally suit a couple who would live at the land in a lovely homely caravan with an open kitchen with gas oven, a small fridge a lovely big sofa/double bed in the kitchen area and of course there is the Double comfortable bed in the main house. The compost toilet and basic solar shower etc are close by and it is a very peaceful, tranquil environment.

    The main house is finished on the outside and has a comfortable double bed, sofas, and soon to be installed wood burning fire so it is cozy and well insulated but still bare walls and concrete floor as we need more help with building to turn the inside into a proper home. We have lived up there fine for the last few Summers and although it’s basic it is very beautiful. There is no bathroom or kitchen in the house.

    You will have the place to yourselves apart from when we are working with you as we will be back in town running the small hotel so as its so isolated you really need a car however you can use our 2 mountain bikes.

    The land is in beautiful part of the island with a fabulous cove for swimming in the crystal clear sea only 10 mins walk away and being in such wild nature is always so refreshing.

    You would have to cook for yourselves as I am not able to do much with my injury so we would expect less work from you but you get to spend some time in a great place for some help basically.

    Normally you would be living with some rather gorgeous rescue cats but we have just driven 5 stray cats to the U.K. to their forever homes and so although we are still neutering street cats and feeding them on the streets we aren’t currently fostering any but that could change so being an animal lover is important plus we might need a nights babysitting our 2 rescue dogs and 2 rescue cats in Stari Grad.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Croatian: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation is set in 5,000m2 of land hidden in the forests near Stari Grad on the island of Hvar. There is a 76 m2 unfinished (on the inside) house with a large double bed, 2 x large leather sofas and wardrobe space but there are boxes of all our storage things around as well as a abay grand piano and loads of books. There is a small a wood burning stove so it’s more comfortable in the Winter as well. There is also a cool caravan which has a small double bed, table and seats. The caravan is in a covered area with a large roof with a kitchen and comfortable lounge area (sheltered from rain and wind but nice and airy). There are 2 solar panels on the roof for a fridge, lighting, charging areas etc but also a generator as back up.

    The toilet is situated down a small path (approx 20 m away) and is a compost toilet which does need emptying regularly and the shower is used via a generator straight from a water tank but is not hot water (its not needed much here most of the time as its so warm so a cool shower is much more refreshing). (We have just bought a solar shower and so that can get very warm) It is basic but comfortable if you can live off grid.

    There is good 5G reception up there but you will need to have it on our phone or device as there is no Wi fi up there. It’s about getting back to nature but you will have privacy and a lovely place to hang out . There is a proper 4 ring gas cooker and oven, table and chairs and a big comfy bed/sofa in the kitchen area as well, it’s a lovely place to hang out and watch the stars.

    We wouldn’t be cooking for you but happy for you to do less work and buy your own. We are very relaxed, just want to get a little help whilst letting someone enjoy some time on this stunning island.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The island is surrounded by stunning beaches, historical buildings, amazing restaurants (not so many in the Winter sadly as they close in Mid October) great hiking, rock climbing, snorkelling, cycling ( you can borrow our bikes) so you will never be bored.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Although we are off grid we do have 2 solar panels and 2 batteries and we get a good signal up here 5G but you will need your own Wi fi package but it’s easy to get in Croatia. You can pick up a SIM card with unlimited Wi fi for a good price.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space at our land for parking a camper van or car.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes pets are welcome as there is plenty of land and wonderful walks for dogs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 796166387835

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)







Cultural exchange and help with 3years old girl on Korcula Island, Croatia
Help out at our small electronic music festival in the mountains near Rudopolje, Croatia