Indoor/Outdoor Volunteering Experience in Northern California, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 852 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    85  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome. Our approach to life is community and sustainability and flexibility as life keeps changing. We are in Northern California, about 50 miles North of San Francisco on almost two acres of which we are developing using permaculture techniques. We have had a major change in that our oldest community member, chief cook and matron died in March 2020 so we are still adjusting. We were a multigenerational community and now we are a husband and wife with some friends. We have chickens, guinea fowl, 3 dogs and 1 cat, a vegetable garden and an orchard. Our bees are now thriving, although we still have a lot to learn! We are continuing to plant for bees/pollinators and exploring how to manage bee hives on our property.

    Helpers can participate in many areas, inside or outside. If you like animals, working in the garden, and organising then this might just be a little haven for you. We have multiple projects in the works which we would love help with. Please read below to see if you are the right fit.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Some of us have travelled and lived in Zimbabwe, Mexico, England, Australia, New Zealand, France, Switzerland, Italy and Russia. We enjoy sharing our stories, life experiences and philosophies while hearing others travel stories, life experiences and philosophies. We also love learning about other cultures, learning some words/phrases of another language, discussing ideas and showing off Sonoma County, local permaculture spots, San Francisco, the local breweries and wineries. We have life experience in the health care industry as Medical providers and support staff with an emphasis on Family Medicine and Midwifery.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    OUTDOORS:
    chicken house cleaning; pruning; weeding; watering; sheet mulching; painting (finishing up remodel of one end of house); clearing outside area of piled up items; dog walking

    We appreciate those interested in sustainability e.g. permaculture wise or forward thinking in that direction. If you are unfamiliar, please make use of Google search to find out if this interests you. Specialists in any of the above are anticipated as we have many ideas awaiting fruition. All helping hands are welcome.

    INDOORS:
    general upkeep: hoovering/vacuuming, bathroom cleaning, mopping, dusting; organisation (kitchen plans: to install pullout drawers, spice rack and other storage savvy things); cooking; light installation; woodwork (floor to ceiling bookcases in the den)

    We all work at different times so needless to say, we are quite busy. Help to maintain a level of cleanliness and improve organisation is greatly appreciated. We also love socializing and interaction with all types of worldly people that have come to stay, so far. If you are someone who is open and willing to put in your time and effort, we would love to have you in our household.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Bedroom, sometimes caravan and occasionally tents

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Santa Rosa is 50 miles North of San Francisco in Sonoma County wine country -- home of Snoopy ("Peanuts" creator Charles Schultz) and horticulturalist Luther Burbank. We are happy to show you around Sonoma County and possibly take a day trip to San Francisco. There is plenty to do and see including bicycling, wine tasting, micro brewery tours, ice skating, hiking, roller skating, Petaluma Adobe, Luther Burbank Gardens, Snoopy Museum, redwood walks, visits to the ocean, local gigs, farmers markets and festivals.

    We enjoy the arts (music, theatre, film); campfires outside by the pool; fitness (swimming, cycling, hiking, yoga, meditation, running, tennis); socialisation (sightseeing, chatting, sharing stories). You are welcome to join in on anything we do.

    We have collectively lived and travelled around US, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Russia, Africa, South America, Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, and Malaysia with dreams to travel to India, Central America and Japan (to name just a few). We are also experienced hosts to many travellers. We think you will enjoy staying here and we will appreciate the help.

    'Acknowledging the good that is already in your life is the foundation for all abundance' -- Eckhart Tolle

    Here's to a new friendship!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a good wifi connection that goes into the garden. While we do not have a seperate room for digital nomads to work in there are many quiet areas both inside and out to work in.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    It might be possible to host people with campervans/motorhomes depending on the size of the vehicle and the length of stay. We have off road parking and have accommodated campervans in the past.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Any pets need to get along with our pets/animals. We currently have 3 dogs, 1 cat, chickens and guinea fowl.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

























































N° de référence hôte : 784154847155