Join our family log building in North Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 2 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living in northwestern Ontario. Our summer projects include maintaining fence lines, checking on critters daily, working on our deck, and our biggest project - building our log cabin family retreat. We love to go fishing year round and hunting when the season is open! Wild game is a major component of our diet. We also try to grow as much of our food as we can manage at this time. That doesn’t mean that all our meals are 100% healthy, I like to pick up a pizza every now and then! Our family goes to a small community church and we like to help out with our community when we have the opportunity. We live on a river close to two lakes and with Quetico park on our doorstep we often head out there for BBQing for the evening. We also love to go boating to Lake Superior for salmon fishing!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We like sharing experiences such as hunting, fishing, campfires and music. Backyard BBQs are common and it wouldn’t be rare to help out a neighbour. We love hearing about different ways of life and experiences. If you are interested we can show you some historical mines in the area. Quetico park is 20 min away and we often go there to BBQ a meal and watch the sunset, you would be welcome to use our canoe and paddle the river we live on.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We can teach most of the skills for our projects but carpentry and machinery skills are a huge bonus. We often use chainsaws with our projects. Willingness to be outdoors is a must.
    Since we are so diversified in our projects you can expect to be part of a variety of projects including wood working, animal care (horses, poultry, cows), machinery, gardening/preserving. The help with animal care is not part of a farm business. If you want to learn how to cook I’m happy to teach! An average day might be helping with animal care/watering garden, then helping on a project like cutting up firewood or painting a shed.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I’m interested in Scandinavian languages as it’s part of my heritage! Also Italian and French.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a heated addition to our workshop for winter, which isn’t the coziest yet but has plenty of space and is always nice and cool in the summer. Bathroom is shared, we have a large deck we are almost completed. In winter we have an 8 person hot tub. I cook almost all our meals but if I need to go to the city there’s a chance I’ll be too tired and bring home pizza. I can do my best to incorporate your favourite foods/avoid those you hate!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Most of our free time is spent hunting or fishing, we like to take walks on our property in the evening. If you have your own transportation there’s a lot of historical stuff to see in the area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Tons of parking space

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 768732221682