Live and help me build up my little dream in sunny countryside in Toffia, Italy

  • Enregistré comme favori 177 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! This is Emanuela, I live among the beautiful hills of Sabina. I love the mellow countryside life and I need help taking care of this beautiful piece of land and its inhabitants. I call it "our orderly growing food forest". There's a secluded vegetable garden, some fruit and olive trees, and aromatic plants for the bees to enjoy! There are also 4 amazing dogs, 3 beautiful cats and 2 adorable sheep, all very cuddly. My priorities are my loved ones and I would gladly welcome anyone who is willing to help and enjoy my home.

    This used to be a couple profile. I'm still working through it but I'm moving on to embrace what life is holding for me next and I hope I'll get to share it with wonderful people!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I'm talkative but I find comfort in the quiet; I'm also an oversharer but it actually requires some time to get to know my best qualities :) I will tell you about my choice to live by Permaculture principles and I get passionate while talking about pedagogy! I'm a Waldorf Teacher with 10 years experience, although I'm not working in any school at the moment. I write for an Educational website and I hope to open a kindergarten or an after-school care. I look after few kids during the week (1 or 2 afternoons) and I also have a daily job at a farm holiday nearby.

    I cook and bake and I will probably make gluten free pizza during your stay! Also, I will share some tricks, like using coffee grounds to clean oily dishes and how to fit hundreds of plants in a small vegetable garden, and I could tell you a little about edibles. I'd rather speak English, so I'm not the best host if you want to learn Italian, unless you already have a good level and just want to improve it. Gardening and cooking are a sort of meditation for me, so I usually prefer to work alone/quietly to better connect with what I'm doing and creating.

    My motto is "You are what you do, not what you say". I know sometimes it's hard to follow through and that sometimes the most productive thing to do is rest! I try to honor the life I've chosen, the life I love and those who choose to be a part of it.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I'm seeking help with general maintenance, some gardening and weeding, fruits/vegetables picking to make preserve or to dry (depending on the season), household duties (cleaning) and animal care (they need lots of brushing and cuddling all year long!). Some knowledge of woodworking and DIY might come in handy. Carpenters are more than welcome! There's always something to renovate - a soon to do job is re-varnishing our shutters. I'd also like to make a small pond and a duck shed, outdoor toys and a sandpit.
    ________________________________________________________________
    LOOKING FORWARD TO 2024
    I'm looking for independent workawayers that I can entrust with some daily chores (weeding/mowing, watering, house cleaning, some painting, sewing, small DIY projects) and cooking (experience with vegan + gluten free is preferable) that are willing to chip in for grocery shopping as they are going to have a lot of free time, depending on when they come and on what's available in the garden!

    • mid MAR - mid APR I'm currently doing a workaway myself and I'll be back mid March; I'll need help to start the vegetable garden. Strength (I've got very little!) and some experience in a permaculture garden are preferable. I'd also like to create shaded area in the garden.
    • mid APR - mid MAY I'm booked
    • MID MAY-MID JUN It will all depends on what I get done the previous months and how the season goes. I hope to get my hands dirty with mulberries! From this time on I'd prefer to host someone with good cooking skills (once again, vegan + GF).
    • MID JUN-AUG (minimum stay 3 wks) I'm going to be very busy at work and won't be home much. This is the best time for a couple to enjoy: each other, sunny days, the surroundings (especially if you come by car), the idle time, lots of vegetables from the garden (hopefully!), festival in Toffia (mid AUG) and nearby villages. I'm pretty sure a solo traveller will also enjoy it :) What I will need help with: I'd like to come back to a clean and tidy home, have dinner ready to share together, some tasks in the garden and other jobs/projects depending on your skills; the dogs will need to be cuddled and groomed!
    • SEP-OCT It's time to set up the winter vegetable garden + housesitting will be needed
    • OCT-NOV Olive harvesting (please note that there will me more hrs of work per day but for 3/4 days and we might go help some friends too), pomegranate juice... [to be updated]
    ________________________________________________________________
    NOTE: I wrote the following before I went back to a full time job.
    I decided to keep it as I still feel it can give an overall overview

    To ensure a better experience, please take note of the following seasonal overview
    ***Please make sure to let us know your skills and what you'd like to help with. Write about it in your message.***

    SUMMER. When the heat starts to hit, we wake up early and usually work in the garden for a couple of hours before 9 as Emanuela can't really stand the heat. We then have breakfast, tidy up, rest/study or spend productive time in the kitchen. We prepare lunch all together. After lunch we enjoy a "pennichella" and then we study and/or work some more. Of course it may vary depending on weather condition. This is to say that while you are requested to wake up early you will also have a lot of free time! Or if you don't mind the heat and like to work independently you can manage your own hours :)

    AUTUMN. Finally we get to sleep a bit more! We really like going with the seasons and Fall means there's still a lot to do but there are less hours to get things done. Each of us has a job assigned and we ask our workawayers to be flexible as work varies with the weather. Please, share your expectations so that we can try to plan accordingly.

    WINTER. As nature slow down and everything becomes quite, so does our life. We concentrate on ourselves and our relationship. We make a sort of recap and start imagining the future. We prefer not to host during this time.

    SPRING. It is impossible to foreseen all that there's going to be to do! Surely it's time to work in the garden, so if you wish to learn more about it from early March to May/June it is the best time. Also for hiking! We prefer not to host first time workawayer during this period though, especially because we would like to delegate some of the work.

    Last but not least, please note that we don't have a tight schedule.
    ________________________________________________________________
    *LONG TERM PROJECTS*
    If you wish to stay for a long period we'll be happy to sort out a project. It could be the construction of a greenhouse made with old windows or the entire renovation of our kitchen. Or maybe you come up with a great idea and we'll be happy to hear it!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will stay in the spare room with access to the bathroom on a different floor (it's also used by guests). You are expected to keep them clean and contribute to house cleaning. The room is furnished with a french bed, closet and desk. It is silent and it overlooks the mountain. From the outside, you might hear cows' bells, eagles' callings and horses' clop. You will hear the church bells chiming the hour, the marching band and some music coming from the village. There's no need for AC as the house is insulated.

    I'm vegan + GF and very creative in the kitchen; I use spices and I don't cook Italian! I bake sourdough bread and I like to experiment. I really enjoy cooking for workawayers, I feel like it's the best way to show them my gratitude. Unfortunately my work hrs don't make it easy, therefore I hope we can share kitchen duties (no pasta...). If you want to eat eggs or dairies (which you will have to buy yourself) there's a designated pan but please be reminded that you shall be responsible of your own garbage, included food waste that doesn't go in the compost.

    Please use water with parsimony, this is not the place for you if you need to shower daily. The guest bathroom doesn't have a window, so it would be best to take a shower during the day and not in the evening in order to be able to turn off the fan at night.

    I try to be as much plastic and garbage free as possible. Please try and do your part.

    I do NOT host smokers and the house is perfume-free

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I prefer to host 2 workawayers (friends or couple) at a time, especially if they're skilled or very creative. I feel they can better enjoy their free time and work independently. I also like to cook for workawayers, so I spend most of the time in the kitchen.

    My home is in the countryside, in a suggestive medieval town. There are a couple of hikes from the house but a car would be best to explore the beautiful Sabina region. If you come by train there's a bus going from Fara Sabina station to Toffia.

    I like to hike and to spend my free time idly; I enjoyed playing board games when workawayers brought some and I play burraco. I like to watch a movie on a rainy afternoon. I go to sleep early, except when I meet up with friends, all nice and interesting people that will be happy to meet you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I believe my home is more suitable for those who enjoy nature and have a flexible schedule but I too have some work/study to do at the computer and therefore I'll gladly welcome digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    The parking could be outside the property, a short walk away.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

N° de référence hôte : 765924224269

Feedback (9)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)













Help our young family with childminding close to Milan, Italy
Besoin d'aide dans nos jardins bio et avec l'oliveraie près du lac de Garde en Italie