A Georgian Farmhouse In county Offaly, in the heart of Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 274 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you’ve seen our profile before, some of the good news is that volunteers no longer need a driving licence!

    But you do need to be a tree-lover, because most of the work we now need doing relates to trees. They need planting and pruning and carefully strimming around them. And if a storm blows some of them down, skill with a chainsaw would be useful. There will be gardening too, from time to time, with excellent advice available.

    So what else? We like people to be happy here, and this can become a problem on wr winter days UNLESS you enjoy reading. In that case, there’s absolutely nothing to worry about as we have a warm Reading Room and thousands of books, fiction and non-fiction, on every subject and for every age.

    There could be comfortable space for a couple of volunteers, but only - and here we have learnt from our mistakes! - if they are happy to do twice the amount of work.

    The host is called Christopher, a retired teacher and lover of trees and he has the wonderful help of Stella, carer, fellow-thinker, gardener and cook par excellence. And of course we are both great readers!
    If you want to know more about Christopher you can look him up at CDFettes

    If you would like to stay for a month or more, that too is possible, and we would be especially interested in a talented young family considering an experimental year of HOME SCHOOLING. But in that case we would like to get to know you first, and for you to get to know us. We would therefore be happy to invite you here for a couple of days, and to subsidise your travels, to see how we would get on. But don’t forget: no meat, no fish, no smokers!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I have a large library of all sorts of books, fiction, environmental studies, biographies, etc.

    For families there are adventure trails, trees to climb, places for hide-and-seek and running around, library includes many books for children which I regularly review.

    There are log fires, musical instruments and various board games.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Some useful skills are general gardening - digging, weeding, chain sawing, pruning trees, repairs to old buildings.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your vegetarian host enjoys cooking and is also happy to share that pleasure.

    Washing machine is free for you to use but we enjoy washing-up dishes by hand.

    Nearest train station has regular trains from Dublin and Galway.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    All our gardening is organic, and we compost everything we can. Where that is not possible we carefully recycle wherever possible. A new farmer’s market nearby encourages this.

    We are not just vegetarians but also do our best to respect other forms of life.

    Forests, organic apple orchard, Slieve Bloom Mountains, traditional villages, 2 bicycles available.

    All of these facilities are available for visitors who are seriously interested in all the possibilities for the help available. Nobody is asked to do work they wouldn't enjoy!

    Many friends visit when Mr Covid allows!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 763284111711