Rejoignez de joyeux hôtes et explorez le sud de Kerry en Irlande

  • Enregistré comme favori 370 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 mars 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are unable to host until June-- and unable to plan anything until, like, May 😅

    Our sweet, old dog Colm has passed away, but I can't bring myself to remove him from our profile as he was such a big part of our lives and helped make the experience for our past workawayers just that much better. 💗
    -----
    Niall and I (Maya), both 25, have been workawayers too and travel often, but we are currently settled into a big house in South Kerry. Niall is from Co. Meath, Ireland and I am from Vermont, USA. We also lived in Sweden and Italy together, along with visiting over 30 counties each. We both work from home, and can host for a week or less (please don't message looking for long stays, we cannot provide them).

    A car of your own is ideal, but isn't necessary. Niall will pick you up in Cahersiveen or Waterville if you don't have a car and can drop you back at the end of your stay, but he works 8:45-17:30 Monday-Friday (some weeks this changes), so it would have to work around that. If we have free time, we'll give you a tour of the area or bring you with us to the beach/ towns/day trips/nights out. However, we do live in the country, so be warned if you can't drive that it is rural and without public transport. We are a 15 minute drive from Waterville & 20 to Cahersiveen. Or a 45 minute walk to the local pub, tech center, and tiny shop.

    We host because we love meeting travellers, but we only do short term stays because we do not really have any work and it is expensive to house people 😅. It's super helpful for us if you message with specific dates you want to come since we don't plan very far ahead.

    We live just a few minutes walk to a lake. There are also lots of scenic walks and hiking trails nearby. It is a great place to relax for a few days!

    I (Maya) am a writer and artist. I work with embroidery, crochet, acrylic paint on canvas, fabric paint, (air dry) clay, beads, and other random stuff. So if you make art, that's a huge bonus!

    Niall is a geologist. Anyone with practical experience in restoration, gardening, farming, wilderness survival, or other cool experiences, Niall would love to talk with you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are friendly, talkative people who love befriending other explorers our age. Travelling is our biggest passion, and Niall is an incredible tour guide. Our place is great for good rest and relaxing (as well as adventuring outdoors).

    Maya does lots of art forms and can show you how to make something or repair any ripped clothing if you're interested :-)

  • Aide

    Aide

    The only thing we require on a daily basis is that you are here for dinner-- the rest of your day is usually free. We take turns cooking dinner, so sometimes you'll have to make dinner and other days it'll be made for you. We can't afford to provide all meals (especially as we don't really have any work for you to do) so you'll have to buy your own groceries. Say you stay 3 days, you cook once and get dinner from us the other 2 days.

    It is also VITAL you clean up after yourself as we are very neat! Being able to clean around the house would generally be of great use; sweeping and mopping especially. But also washing dishes or counters if you see them dirty (usually we are quick to clean though).

    Jobs may be:
    If we have a fire the night before, take out the ashes and bring in new turf-- this takes ~5 minutes.

    Cleaning kitty litter boxes or feeding the animals if you are house sitting-- also >5 minutes.

    If you have a car, you may be asked to drive Maya and/or foster animals to appointments or town, but that would be rare.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Maya is learning Irish. Niall speaks conversational Italian, rusty beginner French, and fluent Irish.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a lovely big home we're renting at the moment, previously a holiday home. Each room has a big mirror with a vanity, desk, table and chairs, walk in wardrobe and bathroom. Three of the rooms have a double bed, and one is two twin beds.

    As we don't really have any work for you, we ask you to bring the food you like & pick up the ingredients when you cook the dinner. We do have all the staples, and towels/shower supplies :-)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It is a beautiful area, but there is NO public transport here. We are fairly central to the ring of Kerry, so hiking or biking is the way to go! There are lots of trails nearby with beautiful views.

    If you do have a car, Iveragh is a gorgeous place. Dingle and Beara are not too far for a day trip either! We're within 40 minutes drive to at least 8 stunning beaches.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have decent wifi and 4G signal for most carriers. There is a high speed wifi hub a 40 minute walk away if you need a strong connection. Your room will have a desk in it as well.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Steep driveway, but a lot of space and you can drive fully around the house, so you never have to reverse.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We love all animals, but if they aren't good with our cat and dog, they will have to stay in your room.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    maximum 2 hours a day, meals not provided

N° de référence hôte : 146653588639

Feedback (6)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Help with childminding, and daily family life in the bustling town of Ennistymon, Clare, Ireland
Help on my permaculture project in beautiful rural Leitrim, Ireland