mis à jour  

Help us to be self-sufficient in Munster, Ireland

  • Enregistré comme favori 673 fois
  • Activité récente: 15 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are living in a remote spot in west cork on around 7.5 acres. We have 2 dogs, a cat, a few laying chickens, a handful of goats, 4 milking cows and a some calves, a few bee hives, three pigs, a few pet lambs. A decent sized vegetable garden. We also have an 9 year old boy, and a baby girl.

    We are growing and raising food for ourselves for varied ideological reasons but mostly because we want to.

    There are daily animal chores to do which amount to 1-2 hours help. The rest of the time we work on projects.

    Projects coming up in the next month or so include;
    Spreading manure
    covering garden beds for the winter,
    digging and storing potatoes
    Polytunnel maintenance
    cleaning and whitewashing sheds,
    deocrating and painting furniture
    I could go on.

    There are various things we can teach you like breadmaking, looking after cheese, etc.

    A quick note - no Covid deniers please.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are in a remote farming community in west cork (although we are from the UK). We are in a Gaelteacht (Irish speaking area) and our little boy is fluent. We work like slaves and eat like kings! We have both worked in hospitality and food so there is the opportunity to learn a lot about cooking and food if you are interested. Also you could learn about sustainable farming and how we apply organic practices / permaculture ideas to our own specific area and farm.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The workawayer work tends to be an equal mix between daily farm chores (feeding pigs and chickens etc), learning a new skill like making bread (and then being semi responsible for that for the rest of your stay) and working on bigger projects (previous workawayers have installed a polytunnel, an irrigation system for said polytunnel, planted a fruit orchard, cut enough firewood for a winter etc etc).
    Once you're settled in, we can come to a good arrangement - if there is something you are really enjoying we can make sure you spend more time on that. Similarly the helping pattern - some workawayers have preferred to help 3.5 hours a day 6-7 days a week, others would rather help 5 hours five days a week. That's all fine.
    But for an idea:
    Digging, tending poly tunnel, making poultry house, spreading manure, feeding animals, collecting and cutting firewood. cooking, cleaning, dog walking and childminding also appreciated.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Room in our house with a double bed.We have a normal bathroom with bath and shower. You will be warm and comfortable but it is scruffy and there is some damp as the house is old. There will be three meals a day, we're flexible with food allergies etc but fussy eaters might struggle! We eat all together. There is plenty of time and room for you to have your own space.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Beautiful walking in the mountains and lakes of west Cork. We have one car and there is no bus or anything else. We have a couple of basic mountain bikes you are very welcome to use. We usually leave the house twice a week and might manage the odd trip to the pub! Gougane Barra is close by - we would happily drop you there for a day's hiking. No telly but it is possible to watch DVDs. We listen to and play music but couldn't be described as hippies! We have a football-obsessed little boy who is 9 years old who will duel Harry Potter spells whenever you wish.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 626421147542

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)







Live with busy family in beautiful Bantry by the sea, Ireland
Help our family with two small kids and meet a variety of people from various backgrounds in South Kerry, Ireland