Help with our horses in the South Dordogne, France

Country

France

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 64 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British family of 4, a married couple with two sons, age 12 and 9. We have been living in the south of the Dordogne, SW France since 2017.

    We live in a semi-rural location with 5ha of land for our 3 horses and 1 pony that are used for pleasure riding. We also have hens, cats and sometimes a dog, as I foster them through a local association! We have 1.5ha of grounds; a growing orchard including a fully grown walnut tree and a bay tree; a farmhouse yet to be renovated, another outbuilding that needs some roof work, a 12 x 6 swimming pool, a restored 1 bedroomed Pigeonnier and our renovated 4 bedroomed barn for our family.

    We are situated in-between two beautiful medieval villages that have markets at the weekend selling local produce including organic vegetables, approximately 7km away. We also have a little shop selling local produce and convenience food, just 2km away.

    From our doorstep, we have many off-road trails that can be enjoyed by foot, bike or horseback, with distant views of Chateau de Biron.

    My husband works from home on the computer and I look after the house and horse ride when I can, while the boys attend school. We are a vegetarian household, however my husband and eldest son eat meat when out at restaurants.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We all speak English at home and my children are fluent in French, I speak some French so there is an opportunity to learn a little French or English!

    You will experience the way of living in France; the local produce; plums, mushrooms, hazulnuts, local french restaurants, markets with some organic produce, breweries, wineries, beautiful hilly countryside with many chateaux, medieval stone buildings and Pigeonniers, a network of hiking trails, the wildlife; many birds, deer, boars; red squirells, farming; cow farms, sunflowers crops, hay making and of course many vineyards!

    Enjoy our peaceful surrounding of nature at home by a small river with some amazing sunrises, paddocks lined with oak trees, horses grazing and bright stars and galaxys on a clear night!
    During the summer months there are night markets where locals get together and eat local food with music bands.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for help with:

    2hrs per day
    HORSES: every morning (8am - 9am) and every evening (5pm- 6pm) giving hay, cleaning and filling water buckets, cleaning the yard, poo picking, picking out hooves, grooming, letting the horses in/out of the fields. If you have riding experience, then some horse-riding aswell! The rest can be taught!

    1-2hrs per day:
    OUTDOOR WORK: Gardening; cutting the grass, strimming including the perimeter of the fields, weeding, tending to our small veg patch, planting trees, leaf blowing, cleaning hens and sometimes taking our friendly dog for a walk.
    OUTDOOR PROJECTS: erecting trellises, checking fencing, clearing pond area, setting up wildlife areas; making/erecting owl boxes, bird baths etc.

    1-2hrs per day:
    COOKING: We would love some help and ideas cooking vegetarian meals some evenings.
    HOUSEWORK: Hoovering, hanging & folding washing etc.

    (I broke my shoulder in September, needing an operation, now undergoing physio/re-education, hence our ask for help, but we are around to help and guide projects).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I’m interested in furthering my french language and can help with English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a cute 2 storey Pigeonnier renovated in 2018; Upstairs offers a kingsize bed (150cm), chest of drawers, hanging space and a Bathroom; shower, toilet and basin accessed by a wooden spiral staircase.
    Downstairs offers a kitchenette; fridge/freezer, hob, sink, cupboard space, Living area; 2 seater sofa and breakfast table. There is electric underfloor heating downstairs and a small electric radiator upstairs. It looks out to the South West enjoying the sunrise and onto the horse shelter and paddocks.

    ALL FOOD WILL BE PROVIDED BY US:
    Breakfast (croissant, toast, porridge, fruit) can be enjoyed at the Pigeonnier by yourself whilst we will be busy getting the children ready and off to school. We can enjoy at least one meal a day together in our home; being lunch or dinner and creating meals for each other (Our evenings vary due to the children’s after-school activites).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are preferably looking for a non-smoking couple who respects nature, loves the outdoors, who are calm and patient around animals, especially the horses and enjoys cooking!

    Transport is essential as we are not within walking distance to the local shops and tourism. If you do not have transport, there maybe a possibilty of use of our car. (However, you must be over 23 years old with a clean driving licence of at least 3 years).

    Our nearest airport is BERGERAC for flights to/from U.K and Belgium and BORDEAUX for international flights and train links to BERGERAC.

    There are many attractions in this part of France, visting chateaux, wine tasting, hiking etc. You are also welcome to use our bicycles for exploring the quiet country lanes and to get to the local villages.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    The Pigeonnier has it's own excellent WIFI connection.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have an off-road parking area next to the Pigeonnier for an average size camper, where you can hook up with electric. The Pigeonnier can also be used.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5hours per day, 5 days per week



N° de référence hôte : 756876872191