Experience our lifestyle and help with the sled dogs in Alaska, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 337 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.05.2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are two Norwegians living in Alaska off the grid in gorgeous log cabins.
    On the property there is 15 dogs (Alaskan malamutes) that needs love, training and feeding.
    We have so many projects and maintenance to do with this kind of lifestyle and are looking for people who want to come help us out and experience Alaska with us - all year round.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Here's your chance to live like an Alaskan living off the grid, but still close enough to town for beers and social life. You're going to love the neighborhood which is the forest and wild animals. You can learn how to run a home that's on solar, generator, hauled water, propane and heating oil. It is an entire operation that you won't be having the main responsibility for, but can definitely learn and might need to step in at times.

    Learn how to train freight sled dogs that are three times the size of racing alaskan huskies. We train very differently and we also spend a decent amount of time with dogs in the house for social purposes.

  • Aide

    Aide

    DIFFERENT SEASONS AND WHAT THEY CONSIST OF IN DETAILED DESCRIPTION. PLEASE READ BEFORE WRITING US SO YOU KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT.

    SPRING (April - Late May)
    Dogs: Dog sledding as long as snow keeps us going and then 4-wheeler

    Daily chores:
    - Feeding dogs and scooping poop
    - Spring cleaning of dog yard is a long process when snow melts

    Projects:
    - Start cutting trees for next winters wood storage and split for drying
    - Restart the garden and planting seeds
    - Once snow is gone we start maintenance on the property / buidings
    - Building projects (New wood shed, dog box for trailer, new dog houses) (carpentry skills needed)
    - Re-modeling small degree of a cabin we just acquired next to this property (carpentry skills needed)
    - Build a green house



    SUMMER (June - Mid August)
    Dogs: We don't train dogs in the heat but let some dogs go into ponds and creeks around the neighborhood on four wheeler. Hiking with dogs with their backpacks.

    Daily chores:
    - Feeding dogs and scooping poop
    - Wood work (time to ramp it up and be done so the wood will dry in time)
    - Gardening

    Projects:
    - Get the entire wood supply done, split and stacked
    - Building and maintenance (same as spring)
    - Clean out a big field for potatoes and berry bushes and plant
    - Getting our yearly salmon (25 or so) and smoke it
    - Berry picking and jam making



    FALL: (Late august - End of October)
    Dogs: We train them on four wheelers and go hiking with 1-2 dogs pulling tires

    Daily chores:
    - Feeding dogs and scooping poop
    - Training dogs either a team or 1-2 with tires
    - Making sure wood is always supplied and stacked around house
    - Keeping wood stoves going when cold snaps hit

    Projects:
    - Berry picking season is here!!!
    - Hunting and cutting down meat, making jerky and all sorts of stuff (time consuming)
    - Cut trails / maintain trails before snowfall
    - Clean up property before snowfall



    WINTER (November - End of March)
    Dogs: Dog sledding on trail system here and smaller adventures out to cabins and the mountains

    Daily chores:
    - Keep wood stoves going to keep cabins warm
    - Feeding dogs and scooping poop

    Weekly chores:
    - Keep the wood stacked on porch on both cabins
    - Making kindles and collecting birch bark to start fires


    **Must be at least 21 years old and have a drivers license**


    Good qualities to have here:
    - Athletic (a lot of this is hard work and dogs are big and strong)
    - Reliable and self-starter
    - Motivated to get shit done and take pride in finishing a project
    - Love dogs (obviously) and take pride in dog care
    - Confidant in your self and your skills
    - Initiative is so much appreciated for dinner, cleaning and in general



    GEAR LISTS
    Winter:
    - Wool base layers + wool socks
    - Mid layers thick like fleece or wool
    - Fleece pants or thick sweat pants
    - Down jacket / Parka
    - Insulated pants or bibs
    - Beanies, mittens, gloves, neck warmer
    - Winter boots for the sled. Must be 1-2 size too big to fit extra socks / liners.
    - Any work clothes that can be afforded to dog work and handle scratches etc.
    - Something casual for bar nights... just remember it's Alaska..


    Spring/Summer/Fall:
    - Waterproof rain gear
    - Baselayers and wool socks + beanie and gloves (for mountain hikes and fall dog training)
    - Thick mid layers such as fleece and wool
    - Working pants or bibs such as carhartts or other sturdy fabric
    - Rubber boots
    - Hiking clothes and hiking boots
    - Clothes than can tear and be dirty
    - Swim wear
    - Sandals, running shoes and other summer clothing
    - Something casual for bar nights... just remember it's Alaska..


    What we try to do for you in exchange of your help:
    - Small adventures (book cabins, hiking overnighters, canoeing, typical outdoors adventures)
    - Take you with us hunting for caribou
    - Fishing summertime
    - Cook good food and eat together
    - Board game nights and social life
    - Eat out sometimes and see the town as well as a good amount of beers consumed at local breweries
    - Introduce you to our community of friends
    - Hotsprings, baby!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Russe: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your cabin is a dry cabin 100 yards behind the main house. It is equipped with a kitchen, living room, an outhouse and a bedroom loft. It has no running water, but water jugs where we get water in town and a bucket underneath the sink. It's the classic Fairbanks way of living :) Wood stove is the only heating source and wood is supplied.

    The main house is a 2400 sqft log home with running water including a shower, washer and fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom will be available for showers and washer.

    We all socialize and eat together at the main cabin. You can be a hermit if you want to in your own cabin.. haha.

    There is big outdoor sauna building, which is awesome all times of the year!

    We live 40 minutes outside of Fairbanks town.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Stuff to see and do while in Fairbanks is Chena hotsprings, Hutlinana hot springs, Tolovana hot springs, all sorts of different hiking and ski trails as well as local bars.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 754546991494