Looking for a language exchange and native speakers of English, Dutch or German in Mont, Belgium

Country

Belgique

Enregistré comme favori 87 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a little family of two – myself (Bernadette, 47) and my daughter Eloïse (15). We are from southern Belgium (French-speaking part). Our native language is French. When I was younger, I travelled, studied and worked in several countries (Canada, Finland, Germany…). I now work as a foreign language teacher. We are French speakers, we also speak English.

    We are interested in hosting native speakers of either English, Dutch or German so that we can converse and improve our language skills.

    We live in the southern part of Belgium, in the countryside between Namur and Dinant (15 km from each of these two interesting cities). There are buses directly from our village. And there is a train station in the next village (4 km) from which you can explore all Belgium and even the neighbouring countries (France, Germany, Luxemburg, the Netherlands). Our village is 70 km from Brussels. It is a quiet village lying in the beautiful Vallée de la Meuse. We can drive you to the nearby train station for your explorations and we can also lend you a bike.
    Our place is also great for hikers. Nature here is beautiful, with many forests, brooks and rivers.

    You can travel by train from north to south, east to west anywhere in Belgium for 6,60 € if you are under 26 years old. Railway fares during the weekend 50% off whatever your age.

    You can visit Namur or Dinant in your free time, and/or do whatever you wish to do/visit or even share our activities and speak French with us during your off time if you want to improve your French.

    Belgium enjoys a key position in Europe. Its location is at the crossroads of different cultures. you are welcome to come for a few days (no minimum number of nights) and share your culture with us.

    We can accommodate vegetarians even if we are not vegetarians. We like eating healthy food. A meal without vegetables is not a meal for us.

    We are interested in discovering other cultures and meeting new people. We would love to hear you talk about your country, your region, your habits and traditions etc. My daughter and I have many hobbies and interests. We like outdoor activities, hiking, walking, cycling, travelling, visiting exhibitions and museums, reading and learning new things. We also enjoy playing board games, watching films together, discovering nature.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / Internet
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will have the possibility to experience the Belgian lifestyle. You will gain teaching experience in your mother tongue. We are happy to show you round and welcome you into our family. A nice place to stay in the beautiful Vallée de la Meuse, between Namur (15 km) and Dinant (also 15 km from our village), two beautiful and interesting cities. Many hiking possibilities and stunning views. One hour from Brussels (70 km), one hour from Liège (70 km), 2 hours from Bruges. The French border (Givet) is 30 minutes away. Belgium is such a small country that you can go to many other countries in no time (less than two hours from Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands). We can help you improve your French.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would like the world to come to us and this is why we would like to host a native female English, Dutch, German speaker (or two female friends or a couple) who would be happy to converse with us on various topics.

    For this experience, we are considering generally considering a short period (1 week)

    If you have a good level of English (even if you are a native Dutch or German speaker), the help could also include teaching my 15-year old daughter English (I have a lot of material for you to use if you like).
    My daughter is easy to get along with, funny, creative and always has little projects of her own.

    The actual teaching may not be as long as 5 hours per day, so other tasks can include cooking, general housework, car washing, gardening etc.
    I can also imagine my guest helping me with various tasks during which we could speak together or I can show you places in the area and we could speak the target language during these activities as well.

    If you prefer to work just 2-3 hours a day, this is also possible (without meals except breakfast).

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Dutch: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom upstairs and a shared bathroom. You are welcome to share all the rooms in the house. We also have a beautiful garden where you can relax. If you like to cycle, we have a bike for you.
    We expect you to keep the room clean and also to help us with cooking and cleaning up after eating.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    If you prefer to work just 2 to 3 hours a day, this is also possible (without meals except breakfast).
    In this case, we encourage you to explore the area and will provide advice as to what to visit.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Our garden

N° de référence hôte : 712993882826